We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smooth sailing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad Seapointe Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carlsbad Seapointe Resort to your Saves list
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Surfside Lane, Carlsbad, CA 92009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Carlsbad, California
1 review
“Smooth sailing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I had my wedding reception here in September and everything turned out beautifully!! The location and view is incredible! Kylie is in charge of weddings and she was more than helpful during the process. She really went above and beyond to make sure we were happy. I would recommend Seapointe to anyone (:

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hi carlyg412,
We're honored you chose our resort to celebrate your special day. The wedding was beautiful and we're so happy you enjoyed it all. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    98
    31
    22
    11
See reviews for
270
164
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Granite Bay, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have owned a one bedroom delux at Carlsbad Seapointe from before it was built. I have stayed there every year since it opened for occupancy. I love this resort with its view of the ocean. The staff there is friendly and accommodating. That the resort has both an adult pool and a family pool is a plus for me. I do not have children who accompany me on my stays there, so I love the quiet atmosphere at the adult pool with the spa close by. There is a good activities program. I particularly like the Tues. and Thurs. water aerobics class. The welcome breakfast is always a pleasure, and because I have a fixed week, I often see people that I recognize.
There is much to see in the area as well, and good restaurants abound. One never gets bored at Seapointe.
I would highly recommend this resort to any one wanting to exchange into it or purchase time there.
Sally Altman

Room Tip: Try for an upper floor so that you will have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Ms. Altman,
Thank you returning to Seapointe over the years to enjoy your vacations. We are delighted that you and your family enjoy the amenities and activities. The staff is privledged to welcome back owners each year and we look forward to seeing you again in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just finished five days at Seapoint resort and we would not recommend your visit, bedroom was small, black mold in the shower and bugs on the floor. The walls in the bathroom had been recently painted, who ever did the painting did not bother to clean up the paint spots on the tile, not something you want to do, if you are trying to impress your guests. The beds were great and the employees were very helpful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hi DickK,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort. Please accept our apology for the for the poor condition your room. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests' experiences and will certainly share your concerns with our team. We appreciate your positive comments regarding the beds and the staff. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide satisfactory accomodations should your travel plans bring you to the Carlsbad area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This wonderful timeshare resort is a true gem with a gorgeous view of the ocean. You also do not have the sight of RV campers and tents obstructing your view of the Pacific like they do for other ocean 'front' hotels up and down the coast. We are already planning our trip for next Labor Day. Our one bedroom suite was spacious, well appointed and had a huge Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. Loved sitting on the balcony and staring out at the ocean. The adult pool had a gorgeous view of the ocean with a few tables and umbrellas - need to get there early to grab one. Kids pool was nice size with a water feature next door. There are 3 cabanas you can use with larger tables for parties. I saw large families with coolers of food just park themselves under a cabana from early afternoon until evening. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend. To get to the beach, however, you have to cross Carlsbad Blvd and then walk down a little.

Room Tip: We were in a 1 bedroom suite in Building 3. Buildings 2 and 5 look like they would have the best vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear AZmom,
We appreciate the time you took to post your comments and are thrilled that you enjoyed your vacation. We are fortunate to have a location with its close proximity to the beach and the many outdoor areas around the Resort to enjoy. We are excited that you have selected us as your destination for next years' Labor Day vacation. We look forward to seeing you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked a 1 bedroom for grandparents & 2 bedroom for us (parents + 2 kids). 2 bedroom spacious, but you walk right into the kitchen upon entering. In kids bedroom, one bed normal twin size, but 2nd bed was quite small. Thankfully my 10 year old fit.

Location fine. Not exactly "on the beach" but was within a couple of blocks walking distance. Staff friendly. Problem is that there are really NO amenities other than the facilities. No ice machines on the entire property. Have you ever stayed in a site that didn't have ice machines? They served small (hot dog/hamburger+chips & drink) lunch for $3 but really they missed out bz they don't have a bar on the property either.

Also, if this is family friendly, check-in is no early than 4 p.m. Get this...check out is 10 a.m. They were kind enough to extend us until 11 a.m. The charge was $25 per 1/2 hour thereafter. Wow...if you're bringing food (they are condos remember) what do you do with it all if you are staying just Sat/Sun? Felt like we were getting kicked out.

Find websites to get this cheaper. We were hugely over charged at $700 for both rooms. Heard some got a room for $700 for a Week! Do yourself a favor, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Look for deals online, otherwise you'll definitely feel you've overpaid
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Tony C.
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding your recent visit at our property. We're glad you and your family enjoyed our location and the staff, however, we understand there were some concerns with your stay as well. We greatly apologize for the lack of ice machine, the difficulty with options presented for a later check out time and that you felt you were overcharged. Please contact me directly should you decide to return next time you are in the Carlsbad area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

You won't be sorry staying here 13 days was to short ... Great staff in and outside. Never seen so much cleaning in our lives. Two pools one for us and one for little ones. Too much to be said or write about, you will have too go if you can trade with RCI We will never forget this trip.

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms are corner units, 1 bedroom ( ask for upper third floor, ocean view) ground units not o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Carmnic,
We're thrilled you enjoyed your recent visit to Carlsbad Seapointe Resort. We hope to welcome you back for another vacation sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We are time share owners here at this resort. We had the best time ever this year! Our unit was very well maintained; the pool was warm; also the free equipment rentals were so helpful in enjoying the beach. The management and staff were so gracious and accommodating to all our needs! The daily activities were so well planned and fun for the entire family, too! The grounds are so lovely, too, with all the flowers and trees. Everyone we spoke to on the elevators was just loving their time here...we felt refreshed and relaxed. We highly recommend this resort for all ages!

Room Tip: For families with small children, the groundfloor units facing the family pool seemed very convenien...
See more room tips
Green Features: There are recycle bins next to the elevators and in the units.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear YMBS San Diego
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort. We're so honored to continue welcoming you and your family back year after year. It's wonderful to know how much you enjoy our equipment rentals, activities, pools and grounds. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable vacation again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlsbad Seapointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Seapointe Resort

Address: 6400 Surfside Lane, Carlsbad, CA 92009
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Seapointe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort offers an unbelievable location for visitors visiting San Diego. These vacation condos sit along some of the most beautiful beaches in Southern California, and are within easy driving distance of LEGOLAND California, SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo and the Wild Animal Park. After a day of sightseeing or enjoying the sand and surf, relax in your own one or two bedroom designer-decorated condo. With an average of 800 square feet of space, beautiful balcony views, and a romantic fireplace, you can rest and unwind while listening to the sound of the ocean nearby. Guests can enjoy on-site amenities including swimming pools, a spa, fitness room, activity center, basketball, volleyball and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlsbad Seapointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Seapointe Hotel Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.