We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad Seapointe Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Carlsbad Seapointe Resort to your Saves list
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Surfside Lane, Carlsbad, CA 92009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Seapointe Resort at Carlsbad is a wonderful place to stay while you take in all the sights, activities, and beaches that surround this beautiful area. It is cozy , well managed, and has a staff like no other! Their attentiveness and eagerness to help in every situation adds to the charm. Hats off and our thanks to everyone on staff!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINEAPPLE_WAY, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
ArleneAmy - "Fabulous!"
The Seapointe Resort at Carlsbad is a wonderful place to stay while you take in all the sights, activities, and beaches that surround this beautiful area. It is cozy , well managed, and has a staff like no other! Their attentiveness and eagerness to help in every situation adds to the charm. Hats off and our thanks to everyone on staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    91
    30
    21
    11
See reviews for
254
156
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This resort is top notch. The grounds are immaculate, rooms recently renovated, directly across from the beach, beautiful views and the staff is fantastic. The customer service is great, they are "johnny on the spot" for anything you may need. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Great amenities; beach chairs, towels, boogie boards, wagons, activities, separate adult pool & spa; family pool and spa. Nice gas BBQs throughout the grounds. Clean workout facility with updated equipment. Wi-Fi is weak but staff advised they are in the process of upgrading. Enjoyed our stay wish is was longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINEAPPLE_WAY, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Eileen956 - "Carlsbad Seapointe Beautiful Resort & Great Location, Five Star Staff"
This resort is top notch. The grounds are immaculate, rooms recently renovated, directly across from the beach, beautiful views and the staff is fantastic. The customer service is great, they are "johnny on the spot" for anything you may need. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Great amenities; beach chairs, towels, boogie boards, wagons, activities, separate adult pool & spa; family pool and spa. Nice gas BBQs throughout the grounds. Clean workout facility with updated equipment. Wi-Fi is weak but staff advised they are in the process of upgrading. Enjoyed our stay wish is was longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at the Carlsbad Seapointe Resort in late January. We found the decor in our ground floor, one-bedroom suite rather dated. The configuration of the suite was odd, with the door to the bedroom from the hallway opening into the bathroom opening. Minimal closet space. The bedroom itself was extremely small. The mattress was too soft - I was very glad to get out of bed in the morning.
On the plus side, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Really outstanding. On the first evening we were tired and didn't want a fancy restaurant, just someplace to relax. The concierge recommended a restaurant, then gave us a coupon for a free appetizer to go along with it. Very nice.
The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed to do some simple cooking. We appreciated the gas fireplace since the weather was chilly at the beginning of the week.
The beach is just across the street from the resort and we enjoyed a beach walk each day of our stay. Unfortunately, from the ground floor rooms, there is no view. Request a second or third floor room. We also enjoyed the hot tub each evening and had it to ourselves most of the time. Everything was clean and well-maintained. I think they are working on renovating all of the suites.
The drive to San Diego took about 30 minutes and we enjoyed visiting Balboa Park, La Jolla Caves, and Old Town San Diego during our visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second or third floor if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINEAPPLE_WAY, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi Lorrie O,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Seapointe Resort. We appreciate your feedback and always enjoy hearing from our guests regarding their stay. We're glad you made use of the hot tub each evening and hope you had a great time visiting San Diego. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Recent spent a few days at the Carlsbad Seapointe Resort in Carlsbad, CA and were very happy with the staff and the great location. We discovered that Oceanside has a street fair on Thursday nights with food booths,and various other booths with stuff to buy, etc. We had a great few days for my husbands birthday and can't wait to go back in June!!

Room Tip: We usually get an ocean view room but we didn't this time but we still enjoyed out time at the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINEAPPLE_WAY, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi Connie H,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Seapointe Resort. We want to wish your husband a very happy birthday! Oceanside's street fair is great and always has delicious food and tons of fun activities for everyone. We are looking forward to your return in June!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Overall, the resort is well maintained and attractively furnished and landscaped. Front desk staff on check in were extremely pleasant. Our biggest issue was with the poor WiFi signal. Although, we reported it and maintenance were sent to reboot the nearest signal, we continued to experience pitiful to no wifi service during our stay. The resort charges over $15.00 per day for many amenities which include parking and wifi but these 2 were the only amenities we used. So, in reality, we paid $15/day parking with no wifi. This seems to be a common trend with resorts now so I am not being over critical of this resort but do wish they would ensure that when they advertise that they have Wifi, that it is, in fact, available in all of the units.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINEAPPLE_WAY, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi DaisyDora,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Seapointe Resort. We hope you had a great time and are sorry to hear of the inconvenience with the Wi-Fi. We will certainly pass along this feedback to our maintenance team for check up. We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Grove, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This oceanfront property is in a perfect location. Additionally, the staff is Wonderful. We travel
OFTEN, and have never encountered service quite like this. Staff smiled and said "hello" and
actually looked as if they were happy to be working there !
I had an activity staff director actually offer to go to local store to purchase a craft item that
I was looking for !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINEAPPLE_WAY, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi jsgilly,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Seapointe Resort on TripAdvisor. We're always thrilled to hear how our staff brightens our up our guests' vacations, we're glad they made your stay! We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galiano Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Low key resort right on the ocean at North Ponto beach. Just taken over by Hilton and so they try and sell you on their new developments up the hill. However, Seapointe suited us perfectly. Great weather certainly helped- 65-75 degrees and fabulous sunsets right from our balcony or across the street on the beach. Lots to do on the coast from checking out Legoland-you get your admission back if you stay less than an hour and your parking back if you spend twenty dollars in the store- to whale watching from San Diego- to driving the cute seaside towns from Oceanside to La Jolla. We will come back.

Room Tip: Furthest corner suite on the south end second floor had astounding views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINEAPPLE_WAY, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi KitGraue1,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Seapointe Resort. We're thrilled you had such a great recent stay at our property. It's always amazing to watch the whales play in the ocean. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in Carlsbad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlsbad Seapointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Seapointe Resort

Address: 6400 Surfside Lane, Carlsbad, CA 92009
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Seapointe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort offers an unbelievable location for visitors visiting San Diego. These vacation condos sit along some of the most beautiful beaches in Southern California, and are within easy driving distance of LEGOLAND California, SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo and the Wild Animal Park. After a day of sightseeing or enjoying the sand and surf, relax in your own one or two bedroom designer-decorated condo. With an average of 800 square feet of space, beautiful balcony views, and a romantic fireplace, you can rest and unwind while listening to the sound of the ocean nearby. Guests can enjoy on-site amenities including swimming pools, a spa, fitness room, activity center, basketball, volleyball and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlsbad Seapointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Seapointe Hotel Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.