We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another awesome visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad Seapointe Resort

Save Saved
You added Carlsbad Seapointe Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 Surfside Lane, Carlsbad, CA 92009   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
STAY LONGER - SAVE MORE!
Ranked #10 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Poway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Another awesome visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have stayed here several times and will continue to visit as often as we can. The resort is kept very clean and fresh, which is difficult to do being across from the ocean. Our room was newly renovated and the bed is the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on.

There are lots of activities during the week. I enjoyed the complimentary champagne during check in and the complimentary sangrias during karaoke night. We happened to stay over NYE and it was colder than normal for the area. Because of that, we didn't do a lot of the outside activities, but do appreciate that there is so much to offer for outdoor recreation during warmer weather.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better view of sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    86
    29
    20
    11
See reviews for
236
149
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Seapointe at Carlsbad is a beautiful facility directly across the road from the ocean.
The lobby is warm and welcoming- coffee and tea ready there 24/7. Our one bedroom was tastefully decorated with comfortable seating. Dining table with comfortable chairs, granite counter overlooking the full kitchen was perfect to sit with my computer (free wifi). The bedroom, with it's second very large TV, also had a sink and mirror while the huge bathroom, with jacuzzi tub and large, all glass shower allows two people to get ready at the same time. The outside balcony is perfect for having your morning coffee as you watch the waves roll in. The pools and jacuzzis are beautiful, the well-equipped fitness room and the sauna, all are beautifully cared for. Everything everywhere on the property is immaculate and shining. The staff is so warm and friendly and helpful. They go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. We were there for a full seven days and it was one of the best vacations we've ever had. There is nothing we could complain about! We would recommend Seapointe to anyone, unreservedly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This resort is directly across the ocean although a little dated (countertops, bathroom) and the bedrooms are too small for a king bed, but who cares!? You're in Southern California and right up the road from San Diego so who stays inside anyway!! All the rooms face the ocean which is wonderful and there is a dedicated adult pool oceanside. The staff is super friendly and helpful, they recommend restaurants, activities, places to go and will make reservations. They had a welcome pancake breakfast at the beginning of the week and were meticulous about keeping the place clean and tidy. It is a much smaller resort from some of the places I have been with Hilton but that made it easier to meet some of the other guests. The staff remembered it was our honeymoon with champagne and chocolate and even delivered "thank you" cookies one night! Very personable. The train tracks for the Coaster and Amtrack are behind the hotel, but I found that to be a plus as we rode the Coaster into San Diego which was wonderfully easy. The trains do not run all night and really, after the first night I didn't even notice them. I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: I suggest calling ahead of your visit and asking if they can accommodate a room choice. The staff w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gprmweigel, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi Lisa H,
On behalf of Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, we'd like to congratulate you once again on your recent marriage! We're thrilled you chose our resort to celebrate and we're so glad you enjoyed the chocolate and champagne supplied by our staff. The Coaster and Amtrak are in perfect location for our guests who wish to explore Carlsbad and San Diego. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future...maybe on your first anniversary!

Kind Regards to the Newlyweds.

Mandi Weigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

If you are looking from somewhere near Legoland.. this is it! We spent a week there through our timeshare and enjoyed it very much. It was a great spot to visit San Diego sites.

The staff was friendly (no pressure timeshare sales), it was VERY clean and well kept.

The only complaint (minor) was that there was no laundry in the unit. There were coin operated options available though that were reasonable and clean.

You could hear the train tracks behind once and a while BUT it never disturbed us during the night.

We would stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gprmweigel, General Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi and thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Seapointe Resort. We're so glad you had a great time with us and hope you enjoyed Legoland. There are so many exciting places to visit in San Diego and we're so happy we could accommodate you during your trip. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best,
Mandi Weigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Checkin in on a Wed. For a 3 day stay for a friend's Bday celebration in Carlsbad. Their parents are members of the timeshare, so we decided to stay so we could all be close and enjoy all the amenities. Easy to find and check in was easy. Not asked to sit in on a presentation or talk to a sales person. Parked and found our room easily. Garage is protected by a key code which is nice.

Room was a little stinky when we got inside. After further investigation, I tracked it down in the sink/garbage disposal. No worries, we travel with candles and it was pleasant enough to open the windows. Everything was spacious at this place. The elevator, the rooms, the garden, the lobby. Very comfortable. The room was clean and had no excessive wear. They had advised us that they were renovating half of the resort, but never heard any noise. We were in room 210 and was pleasantly surprised that we had a balcony and could see the sunset perfectly! Well worth the price! Living Room and kitchen were super spacious, more so it seemed from our friend's rooms. What! gass Fireplace! Wow! The bedroom was good size, with TV. Bathroom was a 4 piece with shower and huge jacuzzi tub! Not all the rooms have this.

Only gripes I have is no elongated toilet in this massive bathroom. Weird, yeah, I know - but I want all the comforts of home. And the Bed! Yuck - The bed is springy and soft. Felt almost cheap and could not get a good solid night of sleep. Kept waking up. Recommend taking some advil then go to bed! lol! Heads up - you do not get room services like cleaning or towels refreshed unless you request or upon check out. But there is plenty of towels for a few days.

We cooked out as a group one night and drove over to Ralph's less that 1 mile away to get some groceries. So Easy! They have 2 gas grills in out area that are cleaned daily and run great. We explored Carlsbad and Leucadia and Cardiff for Breakfast.

The train runs next to the property, but it goes by so fast that you get used to it during the day and it does not run late at night. You can walk to the Carlsbad Poinsettia station and grab the Coaster into San Diego. Avoid the busy times, it is such a comfortable ride and something to do on one of your days than dealing with traffic.

Wish we could have stayed an extra 2 more days for sure. If available, We will def be back. Hopefully the bed quality will be better.

Room Tip: Select Rooms 200 - 210 for a great view of those California Sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gprmweigel, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hi Shon Q,
Thank you for visiting Carlsbad Seapointe Resort. We are so glad that you had an amazing time during your recent stay. It sounds like you had a great time cooking out with your group and exploring the surrounding area. There are always exciting activities to join in Carlsbad. We look forward to welcoming you all back again soon!

Kind Regards,
Mandi Weigel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

we recently spent a week at this resort. It was a bit pricey but worth every penny. I would definately recommend this resort for couples, families, group of friends and any age groups.
there is not a restaurant on site but several are very close by

Room Tip: check the website for rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, GA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We really enjoyed staying here. Not quite up to par with the other HGVC resorts but very nice. We had a fireplace in our den. It was close to the Village and not far from the Flower Fields or Legoland. We have a very nice view of the Ocean. The staff was super helpful and very nice. We would visit again should we ever go back to Carlsbad. They don't have a restaurant or room service on site.

Room Tip: Ask for the Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlsbad Seapointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Seapointe Resort

Address: 6400 Surfside Lane, Carlsbad, CA 92009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Seapointe Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort offers an unbelievable location for visitors visiting San Diego. These vacation condos sit along some of the most beautiful beaches in Southern California, and are within easy driving distance of LEGOLAND California, SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo and the Wild Animal Park. After a day of sightseeing or enjoying the sand and surf, relax in your own one or two bedroom designer-decorated condo. With an average of 800 square feet of space, beautiful balcony views, and a romantic fireplace, you can rest and unwind while listening to the sound of the ocean nearby. Guests can enjoy on-site amenities including swimming pools, a spa, fitness room, activity center, basketball, volleyball and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Carlsbad Seapointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Seapointe Hotel Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.