We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable, clean business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad to your Saves list
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5835 Owens Avenue, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Acceptable, clean business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

Stayed here for a night in April 2007 to take the kids to Legoland.

The hotel is about 2 miles from Legoland, a short 5 minute drive. The factory shopping outlets and other restaurant establishments are also close by.

We got a king room with sofa bed which suited us well. The room was generally clean, though you can tell that it is a 3 star establishment just by looking at the quality of hte furnishings and beddings.

Nonetheless, it's a clean and affordable place to lay your head on for a night. The clientele are mostly business travelers.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    60
    29
    7
    4
See reviews for
62
18
10
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2007

I stayed here for 4 nights for a local wedding. The rooms are large as far as Courtyards go. The staff is nice and everything seems recently remodelled. My only possible gripe is that it is under the final approach for a helipad - didn't bother me, but if this does I would suggest staying on the west side of the building.

If you have a reasoanble expectation, however, this hotel is just fine.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2006

The Courtyard Carlsbad is located further inland in a business area. While it isn't close to the beach, it is very close to Lego Land, flower gardens, and only 5 minutes to the beach. So it is ideal for families, vacationers and business travelers. The hotel is very new, so furnishings, carpet, and bedding are all in great condition. Bedding and linens were nice and comfortable. The room was laid out well, with room for a pull out sofa. We really were surprised at how nice the breakfast was (incl in price of room). Made to order omlets and waffles, fresh fruit, table service, etc.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2006

Great hotel and worth the price. Hotel and staff were both great. Breakfast was also beyond anyones free breakfast standards. Fresh fruit and waffles and juice. We checked in late and everything was just as we booked. Carlsbad is a nice little town with nice resturants. We would come back here again.

Stayed December 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2004

For context, I am a Starwood Gold and Hyatt Platinum Elite customer. Marriott recently comped me to Gold level to try to win my business.

This was my first stay at a Marriott (all my business travel has been with Starwood and Hyatt properties).

My first impressions staying at a Marriott-based hotel were unfavorable, and I am unlikely to do business with Marriott in the future as a result of this stay.

Condition of room: the outer globe that should cover the lightbulbs on the wall was entirely missing, which resulted in very bright glare directly off the lightbulbs. This hurt my eyes, and is unacceptable condition for the room.

I had a room with an in-room jacuzzi -- sounded very good in theory, but in practice it wasn't so great. The controls to operate the jacuzzi were confusing, I couldn't figure out how to work it and and there were no in-room instructions on how to operate the jacazzi.

I called the front desk and they helped me figure out how to turn it on. Turns out there were two different buttons you had to push, and in the right sequence. Go figure. In-room instructions would have been helpful, rather than having to call.

I requested a call-back from the hotel General Manager about my disatisfaction with the bright glare due to the globe cover missing from the lights, and provided my mobile phone number to call. The hotel General Manager NEVER called me back, which is unacceptable.

I also was unhappy that the description on the Marriott web site for the Gold Elite membership made me think that I would get breakfast for free. The hotel staff told me breakfast does *not* come free at their hotel for Gold Elite members, which was disapointing because the website set my expectation otherwise.

Here is the text from that led me to believe breakfast did come free:

Guaranteed Lounge Access/Free Continental Breakfast

"At participating Marriott Hotels & Resorts, Renaissance Hotels & Resorts, and Marriott Conference Centers locations, enjoy light snacks, beverages and complimentary continental breakfast in our Concierge/Executive Club Lounge. ****For those locations without a Concierge/Executive Club Lounge,***** we invite you to enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast on your weekday stays, Monday-Friday. Just show your membership card and room key in the hotel restaurant. We guarantee you will always receive access to the lounge during normal hours of operation, or your Healthy Start Breakfast, or we will reimburse you $100 USD at full-service hotels. (Not available at resorts.)"

==> Since this Courtyard didn't have a Concierge/Executive Club Lounge, I interpreted the below passage as saying I would receive complimentary continental breakfast on a weekday stay. If the rules are otherwise, then the description below on the Marriott web site is poorly worded, not specific enough, and confusing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2003

After 4 visits to the Carlsbad Courtyard I am extremely disappointed.
We stay at this hotel because it is close to my parents home. Do not pay for the Breakfast Lover Special. It is less expensive to book a room without it and pay the price of the buffet ($10.95). Our last visit was the worst (Thanksgiving) our room was not cleaned until after 4:00, our free Internet did not work and the noise was terrible. When we complained the front desk told us that here was nothing they could do to help us. we will be looking in to other hotels for future visits.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad

Address: 5835 Owens Avenue, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Carlsbad hotel is located just 3 miles from the Pacific Ocean and Carlsbad beach, blocks from LEGOLAND® California and Carlsbad Premium Outlets, near the Carlsbad and Vista business parks 15 minutes from Camp Pendleton and close to the McClellan-Palomar Airport. When travel takes you to Carlsbad for a California hotel room, the Marriott offers all the comforts and quality you have come to expect from a Courtyard by Marriott hotel. This hotel near LEGOLAND® California offers guests easy access to the sprawling park and nearby outlet malls and more. Business travelers attending meetings and conferences in the Carlsbad area enjoy a large work desk with an ergonomic chair, high speed Internet access and relaxing atmosphere to unwind at the end of the day. Nearby area Carlsbad businesses include McClellan-Palomar Airport (CLD), United States Marine Camp Pendleton Marine Base, Cal State San Marcos, Callaway Golf, Invitrogen, Western Flight and many more Carlsbad and Vista Business Park companies. Both leisure and business travelers will appreciate the warm welcome by our friendly north San Diego hotel staff as you join us in Carlsbad, California at our Marriott hotel.Attractions Near Our Carlsbad CA Marriott hotel Include:• Carlsbad Beaches• Carlsbad Premium Outlets• Carlsbad Village• Del Mar Race Track• Del Mar Fairgrounds• Flower Fields at Carlsbad Ranch• LEGOLAND® California Theme Park• LEGOLAND® California Waterpark• Leo Carrillo Ranch Historic Park• Museum of Making Music• Safari Park Other points of interest to our north San Diego Carlsbad area hotel include all the attractions of San Diego such as Sea World California, the San Diego Zoo, Downtown San Diego, Old Town and much more. Other nearby points of interest include the Sealife Aquarium, Gemological Institute of America, San Clemente and much more. The courteous friendly staff of the Courtyard by Marriott® Carlsbad Hotel guarantees your stay with us will exceed your expectations! Amenities of the Courtyard by Marriott Carlsbad Hotel include: • Ample & Complimentary Parking• Business Center with Media Pods• New Redesigned Courtyard Lobby• GoBoard Technology Center®• Boarding Pass Station• Carlsbad Area Meeting Rooms (1,200 square feet)• High Speed Internet Access (Complimentary)• Indoor Fitness Center• Outdoor Heated Pool & Deck Area• Luxury Marriott Bedding and Pillows• The Bistro featuring Starbucks Coffee (open breakfast and dinner)• Whirlpool Suites Available• The Market 24-Hour Café ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Courtyard Carlsbad
Carlsbad Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.