We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hamburger Chain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Counter - CLOSED

The Counter
1923 Calle Barcelona, Carlsbad, CA
760 652 5480
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best Hamburger Chain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Counter is one fantastic hamburger place. Been to their other locations and they too are really good. Get it your way and done to perfection. Sweet potato frys annd onion strings really good too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Very, Very Expensive, but great tasting burgers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Counter has the best burger food, but it also has by far the most expensive prices. We don't really understand why so many young families will go there and spend so much money. But for those who can afford it and money is not an issue, the burgers and food are excellent quality.

Be ready to spend about $15/pp with soft drinks and fries.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. San Diego County
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Burger to rival the Nessy burger!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and i enjoyed a very relaxing early dinner at the Counter! He had done a 50 mile bike ride and was jonesing for a great burger.....but we didnt' want to head inland because of the heatwave so instead decided to try The Counter. We both LOVED this place. So casual, relaxing, the stafff was super friendly.....in every instance....amazing eye contact! Loved that..... I would HIGHLY recommend this establishment for a delicious build your own burger. Oh....and they have GLUTEN FREE BUNS.....and wine. What more does a girl need?

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Super Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've eaten at the Counter in LA before... and we were not disappointment at this location of The Counter. The only issue is they are very busy at this location and you can't make reservations. So make sure your group is not SUPER hungry as you might have to wait for 30-45 minutes.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Mediocre food terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We went for lunch on a Sunday. In my opinion there is nothing about this restaurant concept that makes is worth the price. The service was slow, unfriendly and unhelpful. The food was just average. There are much better lunch places and burger joints within a short distance of this restaurant. - I would recommend going to any of those rather than this overpriced outlet. I will not go back, not just because the food wasn't all that great, but mostly because of the horrible service we received

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Counter also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Counter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.