We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   760 Macadamia Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
seattle,wa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a surprise !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

This has been updated recently ! The rooms are clean and new. The beds have great pillow top mattress and lots of pillows. Breakfast is great, cereal waffles fresh fruit & juice. In the evening there is popcorn in the lobby. Front desk was helpful and polite. This is a great location , close to San Diego but away in the lovely city of Carlsbad. I would recomment this as family friendly also. Pool is a bit small, but it worked .

  • Liked — the beds, the breakfast , the location- close to legoland
  • Disliked — the pool was small
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    117
    62
    25
    10
See reviews for
181
60
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2007

My husband was in Carlsbad for a meeting and his business associate booked this for us. In all fairness, the room itself was not bad and the breakfast was ok. We were on the third floor across from the elevator. The highway noise was very loud and did not stop. I flet like I was in the middle of the track at the Daytona 500 during a race! My husband slept with ear plugs in. I can't do that. We turned on the air conditioner but it blew right on him so that really did not solve the problem. We asked for a quieter room but they were completely booked. Also, perhaps there was less traffic noise on the 1st or 2nd floor but we did not feel like moving if it could not be guarenteed that it was quieter. We walked around and only a couple of places seemed liked the noise might be blocked. The staff was nice but given the situation I would try someplace else next time. It was not restful during the day or at night. I sat by the pool to read and that was a lot quieter than my room.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2006

Great Great place. Clean and inexpensive.

However, if you are sensitive to highway noise, it's not the best place to be. Note: turning on the a/c or the fan mask the highway noise

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2006

Wonderful customer service at a great motel. The rooms were clean and in good condition. The breakfast was good with fresh waffels, danishes, eggs, and juices. The room had bottled water and cookies and they served fresh popcorn in the evening. The bed was firm but not hard. A great rate for a great room.

  • Liked — Attitude of staff
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

The hotel and staff were great! Unfortunately, the hotel is located right next to Interstate 5 which is non-stop day and night. Because the hotel has tall buildings on both sides, the sound just amplifies. We had to keep both air conditioners and both bathroom fans going all night to attempt to balance out the freeway noise with 'white noise'. Didnt work too well. Again, the facility and staff was great. How can you fix that kind of a problem?

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2006

We stayed here for a trip to Legoland and were pretty disappointed. We only paid $222 + tax for our two night stay but I'd have preferred to drive further to find an Embassy Suites or similar. I knew to expect the loud freeway din but it was still surprisingly loud. What I didn't expect was the filthy carpets. Walking around the room for a few minutes in bare feet resulted in black bottomed feet. While we were there, it appeared that they were renovating the hotel and replacing carpets but they had definitely not gotten to our room yet. The continental breakfast (cereal, waffles, pastries, juices) were a big plus for the place as was the free Wi-Fi Internet access but those weren't enough to make up for the noise and dirt.

  • Liked — free continental breakfast
  • Disliked — dirty carpets
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2006

My girlfriend and I stayed in this hotel 7-10 of August. We decided not to get a rental car. Once we got to the airport we took the 992 bus (comes every 10 minutes cost of $2.25 per person) to the Sante Fe Depot Coaster Station. From there we took the coaster (comes every couple of hours, check the schedules at --- $5.00 per person). Took the coaster to the Carlsbad Poinsettia Station, then walked east on a path that lead through a couple of appartment complexes and let out on Avenidas Encencias. It was a very short walk from there (right next to the kaiser permente building).

We were allowed to check in 3 hours early (thanks to whoever left early). The staff was very helpful in helping with restaurant suggestions, faxes, first aid kit, and any other accomadations we needed. The hotel was within walking distance of the coaster, shopping center (grocery stores, few fast food restaurants, Benihanas, and a UPS Store), and the beach. We did not use the pool (small but usually not busy at all). The cleaning ladies were also very nice and provided extra towels and soap when we asked. Everyday we got a couple bottles of water and grandmas cookies once the room was cleaned.

You can get an extended check out if you are a La Quinta rewards member.

I would stay here again any day. Had a great vacation.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Address: 760 Macadamia Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#21 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
La Quinta Hotel Carlsbad
La Quinta Carlsbad
Carlsbad La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.