We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Quinta's are the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   760 Macadamia Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Kanab
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“La Quinta's are the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

La Quinta in Carlsbad on Macadamia is a wonderful hotel. People are very friendly and the rooms are beautiful, clean, great tv stations, and pet friendly. It's very very close to the beach and just a wonderful place to stay. I highly recommend this location as well as La Quinta's in general. They are always clean, nice, great amenities, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee pots, great pillows and a comfy bed. Why would you stay anywhere else??? And, for pet lovers, it's so awesome that such a wonderful hotel chain allows pets when some places that I wouldn't look twice at, won't allow pets. La Quinta's are wonderful and I just can't say enough about the hotel and the friendly and helpful personnel.

Room Tip: While I don't know every room at the hotel, I know mine, and it couldn't have be nicer or cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    106
    56
    25
    9
See reviews for
168
55
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is a really nice property and is DOG FRIENDLY, which is why I decided on it. They offered 15% off and so the room was around $70/night with tax!

They are continuing to redo all the rooms and are doing a good job.

Good side: Dog friendly, and the desk folks were very nice...but not always around when you needed them. Rooms (my first 2) were very clean and well appointed and a great value.

Down side: I was given a 3rd floor room, which was a pain with the dogs, but they had an elevator and it worked alright. The first morning (Monday), construction started on the 1st floor (extensive) of the room below me for renovations, so I had horrific construction noise, vibrations, etc....UGH. I went to the front desk and asked how long they would be working...10 minutes later I was told they didn't know and would move me, it would probably be 2 days...they offered me a room on the 1st floor across the parking lot, but there was still the noise and I thought for 2 more days, it might be too much...so I asked about rooms in the back. They were suites and thus apparently not to be offered at the rate. They had one room that was NOT a suite and I asked besides a couch was the room the same size as my other one and was told it was.

I 'moved' in...got settled. The room was VERY SMALL, there was NO SITTING CHAIR which bothered me...then I went to use the bathroom and there was MOLD...darn.

So I went to the office...they offered to move me AGAIN...I just couldn't deal with a THIRD (actually 4th) move...so I sucked it up and left a day early.

So DONT stay in Room 162.

Yes, I would stay here again, but would carefully check the room (bath) for mold...I would also ask about any ongoing construction. I did a REVIEW that was sent to me by LQ and expressed the problems and asked them to contact me and they never did...so

I would rate value as excellent, cleanliness as above average...but the whole MOLD THING concerns me as I get ILL from it. The construction noise and lack of concern by the staff concerned me as well. The idea that the property did not contact me after asking me to review the property is a bad mark on service as well.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the road and as far away from the 5 as you can...there is considerable WHITE noise of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel is located in a safe place in Carlsbad, nice area. I stayed for 3 nights with two small dogs in a suite. The suite was quite large, one room with king bed and TV, other with sofa and TV . Both rooms had large chest of drawers and ample place to hang clothes. Two full baths with tubs, very spacious. Each bath had a hair dryer. Decor very nice and all was very clean. I read about the noise on the freeway side so I asked for a quiet room and got one on the first floor. With doors closed, and there are two doors by the way, the freeway noise was not an issue. There was a coffee maker, small frig and small microwave in suite, all functional. Really liked the hutch for my computer with desk chair. Despite other reviews, my hotel wifi was very fast but then i always have my Netgear Genie adapter when traveling, which increases signal strength.. Breakfast choices are many; waffles, pastries, bagels, cereals, fruit, juices, hot oatmeal, yogurt and coffee reg and decaf. Staff all very pleasant. Spa and pool very clean. Nothing to complain about here and price us very reasonable for this kind of suite. Will definitely stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Ground floor facing the Kaiser Medical Center is quiet and has greenery outside window. Ask for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at La Quinta for 3 nights during our Legoland trip. We chose this hotel primarily for its money value, knowing that we wouldn't spend much time in the room. The hotel was sufficient for what we needed. We got a room on the ground floor in the main building, and right next to a breakfast room. Luckily we didn't hear much noise in the morning though except for the waffle maker beeping.

Our room was clean, nicely furnished, but felt a bit dark. The bed was comfortable. We had problem with our room key cards. They didn't work so we had to have them reprogrammed a couple times during our stay.

Room Tip: Try to request for a room on the top floor. Our neighbors upstair were running and jumping quite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was a great place to stay for our Legoland weekend getaway. Check-in and check-out were easy, parking was plentiful, staff friendly, rooms super clean, and breakfast FREE! The location is right off the freeway, so if you are one that has a problem with freeway buzz this is not the place for you; for me, freeway noise has always had the effect of a lullaby. The hotel is within 4 freeway exits of everything in the area; no car ride exceeded 15 minutes. My only points of minor discomfort: the hard, tiny pillows and the non-operational heating unit that blew cold air instead of hot. But the bed itself was comfy and with four of us it never got too cold. The free breakfast is always a draw for me, and it included DIY waffles, boiled eggs, bagels, toast, fresh fruit, juices, tea, and cereals. Breakfast on Sundays served until 10:30!!! For a family of four, this easily saves us $40 a day, so the $100 room charge was totally worth it, IMHO.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The title says it all. After checking in after 9 PM, WiFi so slow it was not usable. Called the desk and was advised working fine. It was usable in the morning, bit very slow, so assume they don't have adequate BW at this facility. We like La Quinta, but will not stay at this one again.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near Interstate as very noisy outside. Our room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Address: 760 Macadamia Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
La Quinta Hotel Carlsbad
La Quinta Carlsbad
Carlsbad La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.