We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   760 Macadamia Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Longmont, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was the second time we stayed at this Hotel. I remembered it served usw well the frist time and what drew us back was the free breakfast. I was disappointed this time however. I really can't complan about what they call the "deluxe continental breakfast" because it is, afterall, free. The main comp0oaint it it is too noisy. It really makes a difference where your room is located so be warned! Also the maid service was slow and after awdventuring out for the day we came back in the late afternoon to an unmade room. It was clean and served it's purpose. Except for noisy nights, traffic noise. That's why I gave it three stars.

Room Tip: get as room as far from traffic noise as you can and don't expect any extras - no late check-out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6120gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your second stay with us, as reviews like yours are vital in helping us improve our services. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay and the inconveniences they caused. We have discussed your comments with our staff to ensure consistency in correcting the issue. We always strive to give our guest the highest quality service and hope we have the opportunity to earn back you patronage and welcome you back during your next visit.

Keith Noe, General Manager 760-438-2828
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    116
    62
    25
    10
See reviews for
181
60
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights over a holiday weekend. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. Continental breakfast was more than adequate with the usual pastries/muffins/juice but also oatmeal. However I did have 2 issues. One night the people next door to us were making a lot of noise (group of young adults) and finally around midnight I had to call the front desk. The front desk told me they would immediately take care of it and if the noise continues to call back in 5 minutes. After a couple of minutes most of the young adults left the room and I had no problems after that. I understand completely that this could happen at any hotel and no fault to La Quinta. The other issue is that we had 2 small dogs with us and we were placed on a third floor room on the other side of the building where we parked our car. We had to walk down 2 flights of stairs in the middle of the night to take our dogs out. I'm not sure if the rooms we were in was designated for dogs. We did check in at 10pm so it may have been because there was no other rooms available. Even with that inconvenience, we still had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6120gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay over the holiday. We are always happy to hear we have provided quality service with clean rooms and a friendly staff. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay, as they do not reflect the level of service we strive to achieve with all our guests. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back, four legged friends included, during your future travels.

Keith Noe, General Manager 760-438-2828
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This motel, and I like the outside doors that most people today do not like, is a really nice place to stay. It was quiet and the staff were excellent. They made me feel I was important to them as a guest. It is in a good spot, easy to reach from I-5 and to explore the area from. The breakfast was really good-especially the hot, not instant, oatmeal. Oh, they have packets of instant oatmeal if you want them but who would want them with cooked oatmeal ready? My only wish is that they would have more sweeteners than just Saccharin and sugar-perhaps Equal or Splenda also. The breakfast room is very nice with plenty of tables. The price was reasonable also.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stay in lots of La Quinta properties, and this one is super easy to get to and close to lots of stuff. We arrived late and the staff were very helpful and nice. Basic La Quinta rooms without the benefit of the latest round of LQ renovations, but it wasn't a problem. Other than sleeping and grabbing a quick breakfast, we were out and about. As for breakfast... standard LQ fare, but the traffic flow around the central counter needs to be re-planned. Staff helpful for food reccos and directions. The best part, short walking distance to the California Coaster commuter rail service to San Diego and a 2 minute drive to Legoland and the beach.

Room Tip: Third floor west end better, but beware of smokers on the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Address: 760 Macadamia Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#21 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
La Quinta Hotel Carlsbad
La Quinta Carlsbad
Carlsbad La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.