I booked a KING, GROUND FLOOR room at the Carlsbad La Quinta from 10/31-11/7. Due to a change in plans I arrived on 10/30. They could not accommodate me in either a KING or GROUND FLOOR room, and put me in a room at the corner of the building above the pet area - the front desk told me to check in the next day after 2pm for a different room. The air/heat unit DID NOT WORK (it made a SHRILL WHINING SOUND) and I could not sleep the whole night due to the freeway noise. When I checked with the front desk the next afternoon, they said there were still no KINGS available (I had booked my reservation WEEKS ahead of time) and they put me in a room RIGHT NEXT DOOR to the HOUSEKEEPING area. There were carts, laundry and people coming and going all day long. Everyone I ran into was pleasant but the hotel was not at capacity so why was I stuck there????
I decided to check out early on Friday 11/4. I notified the front desk and asked for a late check out that day, the woman said no problem you can check out at 2PM.
At 1PM on Friday the front desk called my room and ask me if I was checking out late on Sunday? I told her AGAIN that I was checking out TODAY (and in the next 15 minutes). When I left I notified the five (5) housekeepers that I was leaving, and they could change my room. As usual, I left my room keys inside the room.
About two hours later, a pompous front desk clerk left me a voice mail saying, "it was 4PM and when was I checking out???" I was already in Manhattan Beach (2+ hours away) by then! I called back TWICE but he would not help me because he said there were customers waiting in the lobby. I have never been treated so rudely on the phone when calling a hotel.
I called back and asked for the manager, he transferred me to the managers voice mail where I left a message. To date, no one has called to apologize or ensure I was not charged for Friday night! I will not be staying here again!
P.S. I was in room #109 - the (dark blue) carpets were stained and the duvet cover had a rip in it. The bed was so uncomfortable I had to buy some Tiger Balm.
It doesn't matter what you book - you won't get it!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I apologize that you experienced these issue during your visit to Carlsbad. We try to accommodate all requests and the night before arrival we pre-block guests who have requests if we have availability. Since you did show up a day early we could not honor that request as we were unaware of your early arrival. I have checked your reservation and was able to verify that you were not charged for Friday night. I apologize this information was not properly communicated to you during your checkout process and this issues has been address and corrected with my staff. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or would like to make a future reservation. Mary Jagiello, General Manager 760-438-2828; firstname.lastname@example.org
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.