We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property, but pool staff needs improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Park Hyatt Aviara Resort to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   7100 Aviara Resort Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pamper at the Park
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Temecula, California, USA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property, but pool staff needs improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Park Hyatt Aviara is a beautiful property. In many ways it lives up to the Park Hyatt standards. We have stayed a many Park Hyatt’s throughout the world and the standard set is always wonderful. In reviewing our stay I will begin with the positive: The check in process was efficient, friendly, and professional. The lobby is beautifully decorated. The Valet/Bell service was exceptional, great personal attention to their tasks. The room that we checked in to was wonderful. The room was oversized and had a marble oversized bathroom well equipped with amenities. The beds and linens and towels were all five star quality. Housekeeping and cleanliness was superb!

Addressing the negative: The Pool staff and pool area was severely lacking. My husband and I booked our stay on a summer weekend. After checking in, we were anxious to eat lunch at the pool and then enjoy our day relaxing by the pools. The weekend that we were staying was quite busy and we waited 20 minutes before anyone even approached our table at the restaurant. The server explained that they were short staff members. She seemed a bit unprofessional in handling this issue (obviously upset). The pool restaurant is located near the family pool as well, and because it was a busy weekend the noise from screaming children and a birthday party was disruptive as well. After lunch, we decided to enjoy ourselves by the Adult Pool which is enough away from the Family pool as to offer a bit of relaxation. However, after putting our towels down on the lounges, we were told by an employee that we could only stay for 15 minutes as they were closing it down for a private party. As such, people were hurrying to move to the Family pool and by the time we got up there, all the lounges were taken. This was an issue for us and had we been warned that we could not use the pool area, we would have chosen to stay someplace else. We ended up going to our room and using our balcony and chairs. We called downstairs to the front desk and asked if this would be the same for the next day. We were told that typically on Weekends the Adult pool is reserved for weddings and private parties.

This is a beautiful decorated and maintained property. If we did not encounter the problems at the pool my rating would have been a solid 5, as every other aspect of our stay was on that level. However, I am not sure if we will choose to stay here again, as the pool situation did create a negative impact on our stay. Hopefully, Management will read this review and look into possible solutions for future guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your review, your compliments on the amenities and service provided are appreciated. We are disappointed to hear about the inconveniences you experienced poolside and understand your frustrations. During your next visit we would welcome the opportunity to make up for it by showing you the superior service we strive for during every guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    129
    51
    24
    17
See reviews for
208
180
17
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for a week for a work conference. The hotel is beautiful and staff is very helpful. My 16 year had fun picking fruit off the fruit trees, which were everywhere. Not a lot of activities for kids, other than the pool, but would highly recommend this for couples. We actually were evacuated due to a wildfire and the staff handled the situation very well.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your visit and that our associates made sure you were taken care of during the emergency evacuation. We would love to welcome your family back to the resort to check out the Game Room, Recreation Center, Aviara Kids Academy and other fun activities, please let us know if we can assist with any future reservations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The choice of Park Hyatt Aviara for my birthday celebration was an outstanding experience for our entourage of six. Our dining included cocktails and appetizers on the balcony-patio overlooking the Palm Courtyard; our late dinner pleasure was at Vivace and on Sunday we enjoyed the famous Bloody Mary Brunch on the California Bistro patio. [There was one glitch at Vivace that I pointed out to PHA management. The middle page of menu with fixed prices for dinners’ choices is confusing. Staff should be more cognizant in explaining ordering procedure, especially portions of their entrée.]

From valet runner to suite attendant and all other service personnel: I compliment them for their outstanding demeanor with providing such excellent care during our visit.

Room Tip: Our suite was on fifth floor facing east and overlooking the family pool area. It was spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and extend kind compliments to many of the associates on our team. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at Park Hyatt Aviara and would like to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We just returned from the Park Hyatt Aviara Resort. We had a wonderful stay. Everything was wonderful...from the room, to the food and drinks by the pool, to the breakfast buffet. The staff was first rate, very friendly without being overly intrusive. I would highly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit. We appreciate your kind comments. Please do not hesitate to let us know if we can assist with any future bookings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, CA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We live about an hour away from this hotel, and stay here when we want to get away for a weekend and get pampered. The hotel used to be a Four Seasons and the Hyatt has kept the place up to those standards. The beds, pillows and linens are the most comfortable we've ever had -- anywhere. The decor is impeccable. The grounds beautiful. The restaurant options fantastic. The staff friendly and professional. The resort is family friendly, but also caters to those without kids (e.g., there is a separate pool for adults only). While there is no need to leave the grounds with all the excellent options available (a challenging golf course, many pools, great views, two fabulous restaurants, a spa, and special events like outdoor movies), the hotel is close to great beaches, several more golf courses, and Legoland. San Diego is only 30 minutes away as well. We love this place and look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: If you don't have kids, avoid breakfast in the California Bistro. If can get very loud with all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
It brings us joy to hear you had such a relaxing and enjoyable getaway! We are so glad you were able to experience all the different areas of the hotel from the delightful Adult Pool to the award winning Golf Course, Spa and restaurants. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Had a 3 night stay here July 4th , 5th and 6th with my wife. No kids. The room and bed was extra comfortable with a surprise turn down service every night. This Hotel is built solid. and has beautiful landscape and views of the lagoon, mountains and the ocean depending on what room you get. Ours was on the 5th floor facing east.This place has a excellent firework show on the 4th of July. Relaxing Adult pool section with great service.If you see Mollie tell her hello.
The beach and ocean is also not far and the Valet told me they have everything you need like
beach chairs and umbrellas etc. I have my own stuff but still good to know since you have to pay for valet service.There is no other way to park. but nice to know your sharing garage space with Rolls Royces. First Class all the way! Felt like I was on a cruise and relaxed!

Room Tip: Every room has a nice good size balcony. Just depends on which way you want to face. East . West or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your wonderful holiday weekend at the Resort! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the 4th of July festivities and all the services and amenities we have to offer. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back, please let us know if we can assist with future reservations in anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We just returned from a two night stay, July 3-5. This property is stunning! We had a courtyard view not the bottom level. We enjoyed listened to the violin player at night. The pool was very kid friendly and our daughter enjoyed meeting new friends at the pool. The floral smell when you entered the lobby was amazing! We were able to participate in the 4th of July celebration the hotel puts on. The holiday buffet was awesome as well as the live band. The fireworks for the guest were the best I have ever experienced. We had such a wonderful time and can't wait to return. The room service was super yummy! Our little one passed out before dinner so we had to cancel our dinner reservation and order room service, We were not disappointed!

Room Tip: Pick a courtyard view on a upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
It is great to hear you and your family enjoyed a wonderful Fourth of July stay. Thank you for the compliments about our Food and Beverage team, we will make sure to share your kind words. We would love to welcome you back for future stays, please let us know if we can be of any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.