We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place with drawbacks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Aviara Resort to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   7100 Aviara Resort Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pamper at the Park
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with drawbacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We loved this hotel. Beautiful. Although is is due for a renovation, it's still really pretty. (it was a Four Seasons taken over by Hyatt a few years ago). Linens, bathrooms, fluffy robes and slippers; everything is nice. The service is fantastic. Great staff. Beds are like a nest you never want to leave, with the best pillows EVER. The only thing I would say is a bit off kilter is the mandatory valet- $35.00 per night, and the resort fee-$25.00 per night. Since you can't really leave, it's an automatic $60.00 per night. Oh, and a very small bowl of guacamole with chips is $18.00 :) haha. Oh, well, la dee dah. It's restful and pretty and I'll go back again and again. What a wonderful place for a break. I loved the quality of everything, especially the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a lagoon view. It's a bit of a hike, but feels like Hawaii. Plan to stay on the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your kind comments about our amenities are much appreciated, and it is great to hear that you found our beds comfortable - what a great analogy! It is also wonderful to learn that the staff made a genuine connection with you during your visit. We can't wait to welcome you back soon, and please don't hesitate to contact us if we may be of any assistance in the meantime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    132
    51
    24
    17
See reviews for
209
183
18
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The resort is beautiful. The beds are very uncomfortable. Staff were not very friendly. Menus and drinks are limited. Breakfast was good. Too expensive for the average service we had. Very close to Legland. That is an advantage.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your review and your kind compliments about the property. We are, however, disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expecations or make a genuine connection with you or your family during your stay. Your comments have been shared with the team, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and prove that we are better. Please don't hesitate to reach out if we may ever be of assistance. Thank you, again, for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I was coming from the East and was looking forward to at least enjoying the first day and the last day of my trip. I get to stay inside day and night during my meeting so I can truly say I get to eat almost everything this hotel makes. The Rooms are furnished nicely, the beds are truly comfortable and the bathrooms are very spacious and organzied. The staff and conceige was amazing. Use the recommendations of the conceige as well as all services. The salon does a great job and the gym was equipped with everything you could want.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing outward not inward. Anything that is going on in the courtyard you get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, Shari. It is great to hear that you had the opportunity to relax in between your conference schedule. Your compliments about the property are much appreciated. If we may ever assist with a return leisure visit, please don't hesitate to reach out. We would love to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

FORE!!

Or is one the better number you would like to have on your get away and work on your golf swing? Thinking of being alone with your thoughts? Alone with nature's variety of birds, plants and fresh air while practicing your golf skills enough to hone them better, the sheer beauty of Aviara's walking hills, Carlsbad Village, people's friendliness and arms length passerby relationships are just the hermitic boundries that allow solo living with added people interactions spice -ONLY WHEN YOU WANT IT!!

The lap of luxury is Aviara in Carlsbad, California.

Room Tip: Cafe Elysa is the place to have breakfast alongside the beach in Carlsbad Viiage, reasonabl and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, Charles. We are so happy to hear that you found a private oasis with us during your stay. Please don't hesitate to reach out if we may ever assist with return visit from Florida and a few tee times. It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel is amazing and is staffed very well. This is true of the whole Park Hyatt brand. Best service across the industry!!! Hands down!! The property is very pretty as are the rooms. We had a suite which was perfect because we were with our kids. It was pretty quiet there due to it being during school. My kids literally had the whole pool to themselves. If in the area we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We would love to have you and the family again! Thank you for your kind review. We are grateful to hear that the service exceeded your expectations, and that you found a relaxing escape with the family. Next time you are in the area, please let us know. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Excellent location, great service, attentive staff. Easy to get to from both San Diego and LA. Amazingly comfortable beds. The views from nearly every room were good. It would be hard to beat this resort or the California weather in January!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We appreciate your kind review, Russell. It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your business trip, and that the service exceeded your expectations. Please let us know if we can assist with a return visit. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed at the Park Hyatt Aviara for one night after running in the Carlsbad Half Marathon, and it was a wonderful place to relax. The lobby was grand with ocean views and spectacular floral arrangements. Check in was a breeze, and my room was spacious and beautiful. I spent some time just sitting on my balcony and then went for a massage. The spa was well-appointed with a sauna and jacuzzi as well as lots of places to relax in calm surroundings. The massage therapist was excellent and did a terrific job on my very tired body...definitely one of the best massages I ever had! I ate dinner in the lobby bar, which was cozy and relaxing. The hotel has many amenities that I didn't get to enjoy as I had an early flight the next morning, but I fully enjoyed the time I spent at the Park Hyatt Aviara.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Congratulations on completing the Half Marathon! We are so happy that we had the opportunity to be a part of the recovery period. Your kind comments about the Resort's amenities are much appreciated, and your thoughtful compliments regarding your spa treatment will be shared. Please let us know if we can ever assist with a return visit. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.