We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Afternoon Tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Aviara Resort to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   7100 Aviara Resort Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pamper at the Park
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Although Carlsbad is closer to home, we usually drive south to The Grand Del Mar for Afternoon Tea on certain special occasions (birthdays, anniversary, etc.). They were booked days in advance, and so we chose Aviara instead. We'd been to the Aviara resort many years ago for a friend's wedding, but never for a meal or since it changed from a Four Seasons.

The interior was still gorgeous and the service still exceptional. We had a very spacious but cozy table for two in the corner of one of the lobby rooms, with a view out the window. (It was hazy so we couldn't see the ocean, but it was still very nice.) The China service was beautiful with a yellow theme. The area had smaller tables on the perimeter, alternating 2 and 4-person seating including one by a working fireplace which would be very cozy on the odd rainy day or a "relatively" cold day, while in the middle was a larger table with cozy couches where there was a low-key baby shower going on. The environment was lovely (upscale yet comfy), and we found we were not missing The Grand Del Mar so far!

The tea selection was fantastic. My husband tried chocolate orange while I, more a champagne drinker than a tea drinker, chose the berries and blossoms which was amazingly good!

We chose the Royal Afternoon Tea, which allowed my husband to select a dry sherry whilst I enjoyed a Prosecco (Italian sparking wine). The sweets and savories came out at once on a three-tier platter. The focus was on quality not quantity, so we were not too ashamed at finishing Everything! Each item was beautiful and delicious. I've had better clotted cream, but the lemon curd and blackberry jam (with whole blackberries in it) were a real treat.

Because it was my birthday, the server even brought out a chocolate cupcake with a candle at the end. It was very elegantly done and made a perfect ending to a fantastic afternoon. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Your thoughtful compliments are much appreciated, and we are thrilled that we had the opportunity to be a part of this special occasion. It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you and your husband back for another Afternoon Tea. Please let us know if we can assist with reservations, as we look forward to seeing you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    133
    51
    24
    17
See reviews for
210
183
18
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the beautiful hotel, fantastic service, relaxing infinity pool with umbrellas providing shade over the water and gorgeous grounds! Started as a business trip, but my husband flew out and we opted to stay through the weekend and so glad we did. Great food at our meetings, and enjoyed eating by the pool too. Felt pampered when the pool staff came around offering to clean our sunglasses! Room was always cleaned while we were out in the mornings and turn down service was so nice in the evening with fresh towels ready for morning. Enjoyed a great hike by the nearby lagoon and even got in a little geocaching! Free ice cold bottled water every time we left the grounds. Friendly staff at every turn mademyou feel very welcome. Will definitely consider staying here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. We are happy that you and your husband had the opportunity to relax and enjoy our Tranquility Pool, and your kind compliments about our service are much appreciated. Geocaching at Batiquitos Lagoon also sounds like a great adventure! If we can be of any assistance with future travel arrangements, please let us know. It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I live nearby in Laguna Beach. We chose to spend the night at the Aviara so as to gather our adult children and grandchildren together for lunch at the pool.
We found the service everywhere in the hotel to be very good and particularly exceptional at the pool. We were greeted at the pool by Tanguy who was a gracious young man from France working at the resort for the summer. He assisted us with selecting our lounge chairs and cabana, plus providing us with helpful travel information. There was an excellent menu at the pool and overall we felt quite catered to.
The only objection that we had was that in addition to the $25/day resort fee, there was an additional $30/day parking/valet charge. This seemed rather inappropriate particularly since we never left the hotel.
Overall, we were very pleased with our brief stay and would again choose the Aviara.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, Kathy! We are glad to hear that the service and the menu at the pool exceeded your expectations, and we will be sure to share your compliments with the team. If we can be of any assistance with a return visit, please don’t hesitate to reach out. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Ah-MAY-zing. I don't really know what else to say. From check-in, to valet, to poolside, to the restaurants... the service was outstanding and oh-so-friendly. I was traveling with my six-year old son and while this hotel and resort is beyond beautiful and top notch, it never felt stuffy or made you feel guilty to be lucky enough to bring your child there. Tons of activities for the kids (movie night by the pool anyone??) INCLUDING an all-day (if so desired) kids' club. At first, my little human didn't want to go to the kids' club, but I knew that after spending several "single mommy" days one-on-one with my little man (including trips to LEGOLAND, natch, and the USS Midway), Mommy would ... need ... a ... break. However, when my little human saw the kids' club room at the hotel (basically a large playroom built straight in heaven), HE couldn't wait to get rid of ME! Another plus to this resort is that it has a separate family pool (with splash pad nonetheless) and a "grown up" pool -- both with the same access to towel service, the poolside restaurant, cabanas and chair service. The food was generally very good throughout the property. The beds were very, very comfortable, the rooms were quiet and the showers had TONS of water pressure. I seriously can't say enough good things about this place. They made me and my little man feel VERY special and according to him, this was the "BEST VACATION EVER"!!

Room Tip: The "main level" of the hotel is on the third floor, which is where our room was. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you and your son had an amazing vacation. It sounds like he had fun at Aviara Kids Academy and visiting the nearby San Diego attractions. We are thrilled that we had a chance to be a part of this experience, and that you had the chance to relax a bit in between. Your glowing compliments about our service are much appreciated. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance with a return visit. We would love to see the two of you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for three nights, mainly because we were going to Legoland and couldn't book an appealing hotel in La Jolla closer to Sea World. Though it meant more driving, we enjoyed our very spacious rooms and the excellent service we received here. Highlights:

+ They had a King Suite and an adjoining King room so everyone could be together, and kindly provided a roll-away so our three boys could share a room. Given the generous room proportions, everyone had plenty of space.
+ Rooms had nice ambient lighting, no-login WiFi, coffee machines and nice bed linens. Beds have a cushy feather bed which makes them soft - if you have back problems you might want to request a firmer bed.
+ Very spacious marble-enhanced bathrooms (legacy of the Four Seasons past), big bath sheets and comfy robes and slippers
+ Kids room service menu is reasonably priced (by high end hotel standards) and includes organic options. They were great about special dietary requests/substitutions. The gluten-free bread and pancakes were very acceptable, and the food quality overall was great.
+ Valets were very friendly and prompt in getting our car
+ Golf course is beautiful

Only peeve was the $30 overnight parking charge, which seems to be common at some destination resorts now. We didn't have time to use the pool, but it wasn't as large and warm as the pool at Pelican Hill. Unfortunately the Italian restaurant was closed on Sundays so we couldn't try that. But overall we had a relaxing and comfortable stay here.

Room Tip: Lobby is on the 3rd floor, and the highest floor is 5th. Hallways are quite long, so if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. It sounds like you and your family had a wonderful trip to Legoland and some of San Diego’s other great attractions. We are so happy to have been a part of your special vacation, and your kind compliments are greatly appreciated. If we can be of any assistance with a return visit, please let us know. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your boys back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Was there for a conference and an extra day. I stay at hotels all over, and I know the San Diego area intimately. This resort exceeds most I have stayed at, Including La Costa. Each and every staff member was genuine, and they smiled and took time to insure that the stay was top notch. From the friendly valets, to the front desk and room service to maintenance and housekeeping when you passed in the hall.

I felt welcome.

The beds were deep, the linens plush and the room quiet (my personal barometer). The food was great, the venue professional and grounds were wonderful.

I will come back for a personal trip soon. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are thrilled that the resort exceeded your expectations, and that you were able to make a genuine connection with our staff members during your recent stay. As someone with knowledge of luxury travel in San Diego, your kind comments are much appreciated and will be shared with the team. Please let us know when you are planning your return visit. It would be our pleasure to assist with travel arrangements, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailea, Hawaii
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

It's clear that this is not the same quality as the past. Signs of wear are apparent and maintence is needed. One elevator was broken the entire stay. The rooms are spacious but mine smelled of mildew much of the time. Also for a "luxury" property to not have televisions with HD is unacceptable. Upon check in (at 2:00 pm) I was told that my room was not ready and would be ready in about an hour. The further explanation was that the room was serviced but they needed to wait for a manager to inspect the room. Huh? You will make a guest wait an hour for a manager to inspect a room? How can that take more than a minute for a guest waiting? That wouldn't have happened during the Four Seasons time. That said, the property is very well located and the food quality was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, General Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your compliments about our dining outlets, and we understand that your check-in process did not go smoothly. Although we inspect every guestroom prior to arrival, we completely agree with your perspective. A guest should not be left waiting at the expense of this procedure. We are reviewing this process to prevent similar incidents from occurring in the future, and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and understandable frustration that this caused. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your visit further to see what we can do to make up for your experience.
With Warm Regards,
Mark Stiebeling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.