We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About as perfect as you can get” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Aviara Resort to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   7100 Aviara Resort Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pamper at the Park
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Folsom, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“About as perfect as you can get”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a grand hotel. First thing I noticed was that it's a former Four Seasons and it still feels and looks like a Four Seasons. Worth noting:
- excellent customer service
-easy check-in, well informed staff at the front desk
-excellent concierge service. I needed a notary during my stay and the head concierge was a notary
-EXCELLENT bellman. Ask for AJ as he explained all the hotel services and made it easy to remember where and how to get around this very large property which includes a golf course and walking trail. Walking trail entrance is behind the Golf Clubhouse
-large spacious room that includes a very comfy bed with crisp sheets, large flat screen TV, desk with extra plug-in outlets (very important for rechargers and computers), safe, lots of storage, plenty of hangers. Good for an extended stays.Sofa and balcony with setting area.
-BAthroom. Very clean. Separate shower and large tub. 2 sinks, lighted magnifying mirror, along with the regular compliment of shampoo, soap and lotion, they have mouthwash and toothpaste. Separate toilet room. One thing I like the most is an abundance of hooks. Can't have enough of them in a hotel bathroom.
- The only negative is possibly the interior decor could use an update.
-Excellent food. Get the Spa Breakfast and ask for the recipe for the Vanilla Bean Yogurt
-BEAUTIFUL grounds. Very relaxing and wonderous gardens.

Room Tip: We were on the 4 floor, room 430 and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    133
    51
    24
    17
See reviews for
210
183
18
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I went to a retreat at this awesome resort in March 2013. Upon arrival I was expecting a snooty experience in light of the very upscale physical plant. Instead, everyone from the valet to the food service people to the pool attendants were all very warm and friendly and unpretentious. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable. The meeting rooms were amazingly kept at a comfortable temperature (not too hot or too cold as is usually my experience at a conference). The food was very good even for large group catering. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. The conference was paid for by the group I was going with so I can't comment on the value or price. We would go back any time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful resort (when the fog lifts and you can see beyond 4 feet). The grounds are large and gorgeous. Flowers, trees, shrubs -- all amazing looking AND smelling. The golf course is amazing. (It offers tennis too.) But for a place this gorgeous it's surprising how it misses on the small things. My room-service breakfast this morning was 10 minutes late, which is a lot when you have to be on time to a business meeting. And then the oatmeal came without a spoon! Later I asked an employee which direction the running path was and he said, "I only know the pool area." OK if it were his first week on the job, but he provided no such caveat. Horrible training or a lack of personal curiosity? The rooms are big and nice and I am all for going green but the water pressure in the shower is so bad it's hard to get the shampoo out of your hair. On the positive side, the front desk and concierge are staffed with helpful, knowledgable people. The wait staff is well-trained and personable and the food at Vivace was terrific. The gym is first rate and all the public spaces are well done. Tip -- ask for a room on the 4th or 5th floors. The lobby is on 3 and the rooms on the 2nd floor (at least where I stayed, #280) got all the sound from the bar and that made it tough to get to sleep. Overall I enjoyed my stay and I can't say enough for how pretty this place is but it just falls a bit short of the experience a resort like this should offer.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed as a combination business trip and personal weekend. We were in a room facing the pool that was very close to the staircase and there was frequent noise from people using the staircase. Someone decided to let their children YELL Marco Polo at 8 am one morning and that was very well heard from the room.

Maid service was sporadic - didn't get a cleaning one day until turn down service. Toiletries that we used were not replaced. Basic service was not up to par.

There is no coffee maker in the room. Free coffee is available from the lobby - unappealing if don't want to have to get dressed for coffee.

Beach shuttle was great! It's a complimentary service - they drive you to the beach and set up your chair and umbrella and also remove it when they come back to pick you up. We tipped the guy $10.

Thermostat range is 66 to 70. I hate hotels that lock the thermostat. Middle age women need greater variation in the temperature.

Tennis courts, pool (quiet and family), playground, multiple walking/jogging paths.

I did not visit the spa but manicures/pedicures are handled in the salon which will not get you access to the spa. This is a separate $20 charge.

The grounds are beautiful - the meals and cocktails were great and staff is very friendly. When you walk into the lobby you see a floor to ceiling window that overlooks the grounds. There are two very large paintings that hang on either side of the window. I couldn't figure out what was wrong with the paintings - upon close inspection you can see multiple screw heads stuck in the painting itself. While I understand securing paintings against theft - this not only is disrespectful to the art/artist - but a hotel of this caliber should not have screwheads sticking out of the artwork.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is slightly inland but well situated and a short distance from the coast. Beautiful extremely luxurious hotel with grea facilities and bedrooms. Also extensive grounds a great pools. Restaurants matched the rating of the hotel with great food and service.The staff even charged my iPad because I forgot my charger! Could not find anything to complain about plus it is in driving distance to various beautiful towns on the coast.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better view than others but all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Minnesota
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Greeted by name upon arriving. Offered a hot face cloth at reception. Beautiful well appointed rooms with wonderful beds. Deep tub and separate shower enclosure. Will return. Good value and great staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The staff is clearly the strongest part of this resort-- they are nice, attentive, well trained. The pool area is very nice especially the adults only pool. The rooms are dated, shabby, not enough furniture. On weekends and holidays kids are everywhere-- so if you are coming to get away from kids forget it. But kids would love the place. And breakfast is chaos with all the kids, not enough area to move around, crowds, waits for tables. We came for our anniversary and should have gone somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.