We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Kids Great, For Adults Mixed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Aviara Resort to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   7100 Aviara Resort Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“For Kids Great, For Adults Mixed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The staff is clearly the strongest part of this resort-- they are nice, attentive, well trained. The pool area is very nice especially the adults only pool. The rooms are dated, shabby, not enough furniture. On weekends and holidays kids are everywhere-- so if you are coming to get away from kids forget it. But kids would love the place. And breakfast is chaos with all the kids, not enough area to move around, crowds, waits for tables. We came for our anniversary and should have gone somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    156
    53
    27
    18
See reviews for
241
210
18
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place, both the location and the facility. Great food and you must try Argyle steakhouse. Dedicated and professional staff, helpful and always courteous. And activities abound; beach, golf, tennis. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This resort was truly amazing, with phenomenal staff, beautiful views and delicious food! I traveled here for the weekend with a few girlfriends to escape the winter of Chicago. From the moment we stepped onto the property, we were in paradise. The resort grounds and golf course were beautiful. The staff treated us like queens. The food was phenomenal - a highlight being dinner at Vivace. We even attended a free yoga class! We were treated to stay in a suite, and the beds were heavenly. The view from our balcony was both spectacular and peaceful. Though I was traveling without my children, I have two young ones at home, and thought I would have loved to bring them along, as the hotel offered child friendly activities. I highly recommend this resort, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Murieta, California, Usa
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in this fabulous resort. It is elegant and relaxing. From an impeccable service to impressive ambiance, my needs were made. Rooms are very specious and the view of the Batiquitos Lagoon is spectacular. Argyle Steak House as great, Surf and Turf was delicious. Lunch at Vivace was my favorite meal. The decor of the restaurant is outstanding. Great selection of wine. Terrific restaurant. During the day we played golf on the course designed by Arnold Palmer. Swimming pools are so beautiful and relaxing. Well. I thing I just visited paradise. Come and enjoy this unique place.

Room Tip: The view of the Lagoon is spectacular. Request one, and you will enjoy it so much,.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I'm here for a conference and leaving today so thought I'd give my thoughts while they're still fresh in my mind! Firstly, if you're coming here for the first time and programme the address into your GPS, if you can't find the Park Hyatt and just put the address in, you might find yourself in the wrong street as I did! I only bought this GPS last year and it didn't have the Park Hyatt Aviara listed in there so if yours is the same, type in the Four Seasons Carlsbad and you'll find it!

The service was great here with lots of friendly staff! The tariff was about the going rate ($229) but was a little annoyed that breakfast $26) wasn't included. Oh, on the subject of breakfast, have the fruit smoothy! It changes daily but I only discovered it on my third day!

We dined at the Argyle Steakhouse which was quite a distance from the lobby so grab the shuttle unless you want the stroll! There was a wide selection of steaks there but alas, no spare ribs which was what I was craving for! Oh, another tip there, if you have an orange juice, ask them to leave out the ice! I think this is an American thing but it was blimming cold that night, maybe 8 degrees and they served my orange juice up to the brim with ice! By the time i scooped all the ice cubes out, the orange juice filled about a quarter of the glass!

I ended up having a steak which was fine but very expensive! All the steaks run from $47 up which I thought was pretty steep seeing you also had to order side dishes seperately! I sneaked a peek at the bill which ran to over $1000 so I'm just pleased that I don;t have to try to explain that through my expenses!

My room had a balcony overlooking the pool which I didn't have time to use. Both the pool and the balcony I mean!

Decor was tasteful, bathtub was nice and deep, just how I like it! I was disappointed that the complementary bottled water only came at night when they had the turn-down service and wasn't available in the room.

The bathroom seemed a little dated but perhaps this goes with the decor?

Something I very rarely do but did this time was read the labels on the toiletaries and found it very amusing. For example on the body lotion:

"....this hand and body lotion perfumes, softens and smoothes your skin. For better results, have someone else apply it on you.". Now I looked and looked but couldn't find anyone to help me with this!

This theme continues with the shower gel. "....this shower gel cleans the body and mind, as long as you take a shower by yourself. If not, it only cleans the body."

The conditioner: this moisturising conditioner will smooth, soften and perfume your hair. The ones you have on your head, that is!" No kidding, it does say that!

The shampoo: "...this shampoo will wash your hair. And moisturise it. And makes it smell wonderful. And make you look beautiful. And that's it!"

Now, i wouldn't be surprised to read this in a hotel in Asia where the English isn't their first language but these were made in Canada!

I do attest that they all worked well though but I think the next time I come here, I'll take greater efforts to look for someone to help me apply these lotions here! Eiher that or stop reading the labels!

Great soft mattress, probably one of the best I've experienced!

I suspect my toliet was designed by a woman as teh seat wouldn't stay up when going for a number one!

Room Tip: I quite liked my room, (331) which despite the number, was on the lobby floor, as it had a balcony o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We live very close to the resort, so we frequent the dining area a few times a year. Most recently, we had a Living Social deal for drinks and appetizers. The drinks regularly priced are ridiculous, $15-30 for a cocktail or glass of wine so it's definitely worth it to find specials when you can.
Best Kir Royale and Creme brûlée I've ever had. We sat in the lounge by the fireplace which was lovely. The service is not great, so go for the ambiance and don't expect The Ritz.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I travel often and stay in hotels of all types. This isn't my favorite hotel in the world, but mainly because i normally like smaller boutique hotels, but i would stay here again and again and again. The staff is amazing, every single person that works here is helpful, expedient, dependable, friendly etc. It should be an example to other hotels. The pool and views are amazing and did i mention the staff? "Well done" employees of the Hyatt Aviara Resort.

Room Tip: The balconies are fabulous. I don't know if all rooms have them, but if they don't get a 5t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.