We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Aviara Resort to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   7100 Aviara Resort Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This place is a hit on most every level, especially friendly and accommodating service. Even though I understand all rooms are going through a complete upgrade, I thought the existing appointments were wonderful. Large rooms, great views and access to one of the best golf courses in Southern California.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    157
    53
    27
    18
See reviews for
241
210
18
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I LOVE this hotel! My extended family meets there several times a year, and we are always extremely pleased with everything. The grounds are breathtaking and expansive, and the rooms are lovely. The Mother's Day brunch and the Thanksgiving Dinner Buffet are always 5 Star with extremely delish food. But most of all, I love that this luxury hotel is DOG FRIENDLY! My only dissapointment was that we couldn't bring our dog to lounge with us by the pool. That would have been the icing on the cake to top off this great Holiday!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I really can't agree with the comparisons to the old Four Seasons. The experience we had was far and above anything we ever received with Four Seasons. I think the comparisons are unfair and biased. This is a Park Hyatt and exceeds the standards set forth for a great experience both economically and service-wise from the staff. Congrats to the staff of Park Hyatt Aviara!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We just stayed there for five nights over Thanksgiving weekend and couldn't have had a nicer experience from the minute we were greeted in the lobby to the moment the staff told us goodbye. Service was literally on the extraordinary level!

First, know that my brother found my husband and I a wonderful package deal on the Internet for three nights, where the third night was free in addition to a free buffet package and several other perks. When we checked in, they upgraded us to a beautiful room with a balcony from which we could view the ocean. After being there only a few hours, we cancelled hotel reservations at a less expensive hotel that we actually like because we didn't see how we could leave such a beautiful setting and room.

To add to our experience, we had my brother-in-law's 70th birthday celebration at their nice restaurant, Vivace, There were eight of us and they gave us a quiet, private room and treated us royally, and the food was delicious.

The breakfast buffet is as good as breakfast buffets go. Amazing fruit, any kind of egg or omelete, all types of breads and bagels and cereal, and anything else could want. The selection is really amazing.

One evening we sat with my brother and girl friend in the lounge for hours. I was hungry and although it wasn't on the menu, they made me some eggs and toast. It's one of those hotels that goes out of your way to please you.

It should be noted that we stayed their several years ago, and had a nice time, but not to this level.

Although the pools are amazing, the food is fantastic, the rooms and bathrooms are large and beautiful, I do think the service is the thing that stands out the most! It is impeccable!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade- they are happy to give you one. If you are not happy with a room, they are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This review is for the lobby lounge service only. We are locals and have been coming here since it was the Four Season Resort, basically for over 10 years. Ever since the management change to Park Hyatt, the hotel overall, especially the grounds and service have gone downhill, rapidly. To think we used to be weekly Friday night guests here, and bring others with us when it was the Four Seasons. No more. Last night was the last attempt to let the Park Hyatt redeem themselves. For the prices charged, and the grandness of the hotel, one would expect extraordinary service [think previous operator], but Hyatt can't get it together and we are simply too tired to give them another chance. You would expect the server to know what is being served, candles on the patio tables, the heat lamps on the patio to have full gas tanks in them and not have a housekeeping cart loaded with gas tanks appear halfway through your dining experience, to refill all the empty tanks on the patio. On top of that, when we paid cash, we were shortchanged. At least the valet, who remembered us, was great, and the decorated trees a nice holiday visual. Other than that, forget about the Park Hyatt and spend your time and your money at the other resort nearby.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We just stayed over this week with our family for a quick jaunt into the San Diego area and stayed at the Aviara. As others have said this is a family resort with lots of Legoland guests staying here. If kids bother you then you're probably going to want to find another place to stay. The resort itself felt smaller then most Hyatt Resorts both in the general grounds and the pool area. Carlsbad itself doesn't feel like a destination, I took a run through the neighborhood and I felt like I was in suburbia, USA with large homes that all looked the same. The lagoon area was also disappointing with a sewage treatment facility nearby smelling up the area.

The actual experience at the resort was a mixed bag. I felt the room and space were tasteful and appropriate. The bed felt firm and was easier to fall asleep in then most. The employees were a cheerful friendly bunch who unfortunately simply did a poor job. The Achilles heel for this location is execution which misfired on almost every request. Firstly it took over 15 minutes to get our luggage from the bellhop even though our room was on the main floor. We had to call the front desk and ask what happened to our lost luggage and then voila it appeared. At the front desk they had asked me if I wanted a complimentary newspaper which was very nice. I optioned for the WSJ but still got the local rag at the front door. We wanted to have some hot drinks one evening so we asked for a kettle and four hot cups to be brought up but only two cups were brought. This was the general theme from some very well-meaning employees who just got it wrong time and time again.

In summary this appears to be a nice resort in a so-so location with some cheerful employees who need to work on execution.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I don't think I can fault this stay. The room was massive, the bathroom incredible and the staff from the moment we arrived superb. Their ability to be professional but still maintain good humour and join our conversation made us feel very welcome. Nothing was too difficult. The resort itself is mind blowing and I'd love to spend more time there next visit! Looking forward to it. Definitely worth the money and a visit!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.