We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven has relocated to a 200 acre spot in San Diego County.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Aviara Resort to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   7100 Aviara Resort Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pamper at the Park
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Orange, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Heaven has relocated to a 200 acre spot in San Diego County.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We just returned from our second stay here; please refer to MY PREVIOUS REVIEW of our initial stay which I POSTED ON 10-04-11. I am now convinced that the Park Hyatt Aviara is undoubtedly the standard to which all resorts should aspire. The impeccable service and attention to detail throughout this very elegant yet casual resort, in the most exclusive Aviara section of Carlsbad, is unrivaled. I would love to live here all year round, but as that is not likely to happen, I'll just plan to return as many times as possible. Everything here: service, decor (both the quality and eye appeal), culinary artistry and more, is all refined to the Nth degree.

The top notch freshness of the menu ingredients at all five restaurants, as well as the imagination and creativity of the talented chefs is hard to surpass. We had all of our meals here during both stays, and ate almost to the point of gluttony! Between the two of us and their five restaurants we had at least 40 items (including appetizers and desserts) from their menus. I know this is hard to believe, but EVERYTHING was excellent...even something as ordinary as wheat toast was the best I have ever tasted. The chefs are careful not to overdo it with sauces and gravies so as to cover up the natural flavors of their incredibly fresh produce, seafood, meat etc. There are so many tempting menu selections to choose from that you may as well close your eyes and just point to something...whatever your finger lands on is almost certain to be very good.

Close to the family pool, you will find the adults only "tranquility pool" which has soft, soothing underwater music you can hear only with your ears submerged.

I won't enumerate the many personal niceties one encounters here on a daily basis, instead I'll just say that the staff, from maintenance and housekeeping on up, do what they do par excellence. Pleasing and pampering seem to come quite naturally to all of the personnel and in a way that is not overbearing or intrusive.

The degree of cleanliness here is such that you could have convinced me there are hundreds of very industrious, wee magical elves constantly scouring every nook and cranny of this vast place when no one is looking, making sure that all is kept tidy and spotless.

Park Hyatt Aviara, you are truly very special , and as the song goes...I love you body and soul! Incidentally, a great rendition of that song is played in the lobby lounge by a guitarist and female bass player duo - she has played with the best: Ella Fitzgerald, Mel Torme and George Shearing...doesn't get much better than that!

Room Tip: Our "panoramic view" double bed room on the 5th (top) floor was extremely spacious and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    134
    51
    24
    17
See reviews for
210
185
18
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
marin county
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed 4 days for a conference, and extended our visit because it was so lovely and enjoyed the pool and hotel grounds. Service was very gracious, the valet, the front desk, the restaurant were all kind and helpful, and made our stay actually better. Bed linens were luxe, bed very comfortable. Sofa bed worked well for kids, bathroom clean and nice size. View from our balcony was beautiful also. Breakfast buffet had a great selection, from omelets to pastries and house made yogurt. Bacon was delicious. Sunday brunch is also a treat, with amazing variety and quality. Crab legs, lobster, sushi, as well as the standards, all delicious. Expensive and delicious.

Only 1 complaint. Considering the price of the room, the parking, Internet service, and access fee to the spa are too high. These 3 items add about $65 to your daily rate. Felt a little nickel and dimed by this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I stayed here over the New Years weekend with my family with young children. Overall this hotel is great but I cannot give it 5 stars. The hotel is very nice with great amenities but the service is lacking in some areas:

- We had room service a few times and it was slow. They always quoted a wait of 35 minutes but each time it took more than 45 minutes
- The maid service did not refill our toiletries each day and we had to call for more
- One of the maids knocked on our door at 8:30 on a Saturday morning to ask to clean the room. When my wife told her we were not leaving the room for another 45 minutes, she seemed put-off
- Each morning at the pool, there were towels left over from the day before as no one from the hotel bothered to clean them up
- The pool deck was dirty
- The room had a few imperfections. The main bathroom in our suite had some pealing wallpaper; the towel hook on the bathroom door had fallen off; there were major dents in the water closet and main bathroom door that had been quickly painted over

On the positive, the valet and concierge staff were excellent and the food good.

I never stayed here when it was a Four Seasons property so I cannot comment on any differences. I would imagine that the current service level is a small notch down from typical FS service.

I will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011 via mobile

Gorgeous location! Never encountered such remarkable beauty and 5 star service. The Valet team was great and professional and warm welcoming. Sarah leads the outstanding Concierge desk and her professional and sweet staff includinh Lydia, Caryn, and Angelica are the best in the City. Check in was an ease and the front desk manager-Joe- is as kind and profesinal as one can be!So much to do at this location! We ended up having dinner at one of their restaurants, Vivace. How the hostess knew us by name-I will never know, but Beth was charming and professional-Very 5 star! The food was so amazingly deliciouse! Chef Jessie-you have amazing skill and talent! Our server, Ronale, was exquisite and her service and knowledge of food is outsanding plus she is very kind and sweet. The place is a must stay-as the property is amazing, guest service is outstanding, and the food to die for. Thank you so much looking foward to our next stay. Thanks for making this memorable!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

OK, I wouldn't normally start by talking about breakfast, but that's the last impression that we have of the hotel. Franck, the chef who apparently has a Ph.D. in French pastries, should be memorialized in the pastry hall of fame. The dark chocolate croissant sticks may be the best I've ever had. Homemade vanilla bean yogurt and hot cinnamon rolls rounded out what my wife described as unbelievable. The hotel is gorgeous - rooms are tasteful and traditional, lobby is beautiful, and staff is very friendly. Really enjoyed the spa and fitness center as well - looking forward to returning as soon as possible!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Our family has visited this resort for many years, and absolutely love the quality of the staff, the facility, and the location. After first staying at the resort for business over 10 years ago, I have visited many more times and particularly enjoyed several vacations there with my family. Since that first visit, I have taken tennis lessons there whenever possible -- both as a guest and as an addicted tennis player from 40 miles away in Orange County. The tennis program, is outstanding. The head pro, Steve Halverson, is world-class! He can teach tennis to people at all levels, and can dramatically improve a player's skill in just one lesson. Yes, really! The staff, too, is fantastic. One indicator of a truly outstanding program is when you see the same personnel year after year. That's what I've experienced at Aviara for a decade -- at the tennis center as well as throughout the rest of the resort! Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

What a nice hotel. It should be, because it was a Four Seasons prior to Hyatt taking over. Beautiful lobby and well appointed rooms. The hotel is located in a residential neighborhood overlooking the wetlands. No ocean view, but plenty of water views. You feel secluded but you are a few minutes drive to downtown Carlsbad and 20 min from San Diego. The service is great but not as good when it was the Four Seasons. The Aviara Golf course is amazing. It has two pool areas. One where the main bar is and all of the cabanas, and the other has great hill and water views. The drinks & food are good at the pool area, but expect to pay. The hotel is dog friendly and has anything that you want.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.