We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE LOVE this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buca di Beppo

Buca di Beppo
1921 Calle Barcelona, Carlsbad, CA 92009-8402
+1 760-479-2533
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 276 restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: El Camino Real
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds up to two and BUCA LARGE feeds up to four. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
Chino, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stopped in (party of 5), got seated immediately at a nice big booth. I LOVE their apple and feta cheese salad. The small portions are HUGE for an individual, we took home leftovers for a week. Its all great food, great service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    8
    13
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mason, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“80 people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Service was very good and the meals were excellent. Staff did us a favor and brought out some chicken marsala that was not supposed to be on our groups meal, and it did not disappoint.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Different pretend Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

So it is pretend italian, well if it is a chain, I think it is pretending. The food is good and it is like a Maggianos but with lot of kitsch.

We went in at a odd lunch time and were served well. The food was good but the family sized portions is the real attraction. We did only individual lunches.

Will go back when looking for a place to get a lot of office team members. The photos on the walls and restrooms are conversation pieces.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Hearty Italian fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I had a very enjoyable dinner here. Quite an extensive Italian menu and wine list at reasonable prices. The fact that two menu sizes are available, Small and Large, is very convenient for diners who wish not to overload their system.

The restaurant name roughly means "Giuseppe's Cellar" so that's what you get: a down-to-earth Southern Italian restaurant with its trademark red and white chequered tablecloths and hearty fare, served by unusually friendly staff: from the caring seating hostess, to our exceptional server Sammi and the polite manager cruising the tables thanking diners and asking if they were satisfied. I asked the manager to explain the high quality of the staff. He said the secret lies in a thorough hiring procedure that lays as much emphasis on work preference and enthusiasm as on conventional qualifications. That explains why Sammi was actively interested in making our dining experience as pleasant as possible. She even had the gracious courtesy to take time to discuss aspects of Italian cuisine.

The only thing that would make dining here even more enjoyable would be the addition of a risotto to the menu. But this delicacy belongs to the Northern Italian Cuisine and obviously one cannot expect it in a Southern Italian restaurant. Bottom line: Bravo.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good if you are feeding 12 kids and your broke”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

But if you have any money to spend, find someplace else to eat! It might be okay for anyone who has never had real Italian food and doesn't plan to. Bottom of the chain barrel.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Please accept our apologies for your experience. We have forwarded the information to management and would love to have someone reach out to you. Could you email us your contact information to mamacares@bucainc.com? Please make sure to include the location in your e-mail. We always appreciate opportunities to better serve our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Beppo also viewed

 

Been to Buca di Beppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buca di Beppo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.