We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and delicious dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar

PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar
2975 Roosevelt St, Ste 102, Carlsbad, CA 92008
(760) 729-7377
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 282 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Carlsbad Village Dr.
Transit: Coaster Rail station 100 yards from the restaurant.
Description: Paon restaurant offers California cuisine with French influences. Beautiful patio dining, elegant Art Deco in intimate dining setting. Private dining available in handsome club environment. Paon chef features seasonal, locally grown organic produce for the palates of fine food lovers from all over the world. Spotlighting organic prime meats, game and fish prepared with traditional French sophistication. Beautiful lounge with old Hollywood feel and relaxing patio in a Downtown Carlsbad Village atmosphere. Paon's knowledgeable and attentive staff looks forward to creating an exceptional experience.
Vista, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Romantic and delicious dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The food at Paon was spectacular. We ordered their rib-eye, duck duo, and ravioli (as an appetizer) and all three dishes were very tasty. While you're not going to get out of here without spending over $100 (we ordered two moderately priced entrees, an appetizer to split, two glasses of wine, and a sparkling water), it's well worth it. The service was great as well. The atmosphere is romantic, I really liked their outdoor dining area. The large stone walls and fountain along with lighted trees make for a nice intimate and romantic outdoor dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    33
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An expensive, not very French, French restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Paon is reputed to be THE restaurant on the north coast of San Diego County. It is expensive ($100+ per person with .5 salad, entry, 1 glass of wine, and .5 dessert), with an excellent selection of wine, and a menue that didn't really seem that French. By far the best menue item that the four of us selected was the lamb salad. The three entres and two deserts we sampled were B to B+. the service was great, and the maitre d'hôtel was pleasant and informative. I recommend a lunch--not a dinner--with salad and a nice white wine for $30.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlsbad, ca
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have been to Paon many times before and have always enjoyed the food, libations and service.

For my recent birthday, my husband decided to throw me and 14 of my closest friends a hosted dinner party. We used the private room in the back.

Steve Barr, the owner, put together a menu for each guest to choose from, consisting of a soup or salad, main course and dessert. Additionally, we brought at least 6 bottles of wine with us, including a magnum, which they corked and served for us.

As has been my experience at previous visits to Paon, the food was excellent. NIcely plated, hot when served, and delicious. There were some very picky eaters in this group, and each and every diner was more than happy.

Additionally, the service was excellent. The head waiter for the group was very accomodating, as well as the other servers. You know the service is good when you don't notice your plates leaving the table and your area cleared of crumbs, etc. The dinner went off with a hitch - my guests loved it, and the food was very, very very good.

The ONE downside to the evening (and this would apply only if you requested the private room as we did), was the location of the private room. While nicely appointed and roomy, it was located off a corridor with access to the kitchen, so navigating that corridor (after a few glasses of wine), was a bit precarious with the foot traffic in and out of the kitchen. But if you were dining in the bar or restaurant, this would not be an issue.

Also, although we brought our own wines, Steve has an excellent wine list. The servers are very knowledgeable in helping pair wines with your food, and there is a wine tasting room in the back of the restaurant with a limited menu.

I HIGHLY recommend Paon. I don't believe you will be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Great atmosphere, great wine list, super service. Food was very gods but was expecting a little more based on the reviews. Tuna quality was pretty average

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galopagos
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Had lunch in this charming french restaurant .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Had lunch in this charming french restaurant . Great wine list.food and service. I am looking forward to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.