We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Olas Mexican Restaurant

Las Olas Mexican Restaurant
2939 Carlsbad Boulevard, On the 101, Just North of Carlsbad Village Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92008
+1 760-434-5850
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 276 restaurants in Carlsbad
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Millersburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Convenient and Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 NEW

We ate twice at Las Olas while we stayed in Carlsbad. We enjoyed our meals and the chicken and rice tortilla soup was very good. My husband really liked the Mexican Margarita.

Jake was our server during our last visit and he was excellent. My husband and I both commented that he was the best server we had during our entire vacation.

The location was easy walking distance for us as we were staying at the Beach Terrace Inn. We enjoyed this restaurant and found it to be relaxing and good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    52
    33
    15
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun, funky, fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great food, fun decor and vibe. Family friendly and my husband and I wished we could come back without kids and just hang out, eating chips and tasty salsa and sampling the delicious looking margarita varieties. A great stop after the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good food, but not the relleno”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We enjoyed Las Olas but they have a very different version of Chile Relleno that wasn't great. Everything else was good there and they did have a lot of options, healthy options too. Service was good as well.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in Carlsbad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We visited here the first night of our stay in Carlsbad. Even though we were a large party of eight, we were seated in record time. Our service was great and everyone enjoyed their meals.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Bad Experience All Around”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We visited this restaurant based on Trip Advisor reviews. And we were sorely disappointed. It started out with the wait being much longer than we were told (50 minutes rather than 20-30 minutes). The food was so-so. The service was not impressive. When our food came out, the server had the dishes reversed; and my husband got my food and vice-versa. Because we both ordered enchiladas and tacos, it wasn't obvious that we had the wrong dishes until we start eating. The tacos were mostly lettuce, so it took several bites to even taste the meat in it. The margarita I ordered didn't taste like much. The server never came to check on us to see how our meals were or ask about refills. It wasn't until we had been waiting for the bill that she showed up. We will not go back. There are plenty of other good restaurants in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Olas Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Las Olas Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Olas Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.