We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Olas Mexican Restaurant

Las Olas Mexican Restaurant
2939 Carlsbad Boulevard, On the 101, Just North of Carlsbad Village Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92008
+1 760-434-5850
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 276 restaurants in Carlsbad
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

First visit to Carlsbad Village and we took a recommendation to eat at Las Olas. Yummy food & the complimentary nachos & salsa was amazing! We were a bit lost when we entered, though. because a sign said "wait to be seated" but no one was there to greet us. We stood around uncertainly for a few minutes till we were welcomed & asked to sit anywhere we liked. The food was great though and the staff were kind enough to explain the food to us too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    52
    32
    15
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Britton, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

It has been a year since I was there, but the atmosphere was fun and exciting and the food was AWESOME!!! I would definitely eat there again!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Double check your take out....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Always love the food at Las Olas, unfortunately disappointed with take out order tonight. Orally eat at their location, but the wife was feeling under the weather and craving Mexican. I ordered the chicken salad and soup. Unfortunately when I asked for the dressing n the side, I didn't mean leave it out. O dressing at home, so I was left with a dry salad . Soup and wife's meal was good. Just bummed mine was not due to oversight. So food only gets a two since it was missing ingredients.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I brought my two young kids here. It had a great atmosphere... service was a little slow as it was obvious that the waiter had too many tables assigned to him. The place is not huge so expect a little wait here if dinning durring peak hours. Food was good... not OHHHH MYYY GOSHH SOO GOOD.... but great. This is a place I would check out if in Carlsbad Village, but don't drive 10 miles out of your way.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, drinks and specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is the best Mexican food in the area! The food is flavorful and comes in adequate proportions. There is a large variety of tasty margaritas. Great happy hour specials on margaritas, fish tacos and appetizers. Be sure to check out Las Olas if you are in the area!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Olas Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Las Olas Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Olas Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.