We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of cafe elysa

cafe elysa
3076 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2907
760-434-4100
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Bakeries in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bakeries
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We bought a Living Social Certificate and ended up at Cafe Elysa. It was awesome and we definitely will go back even though it is a 25 minute drive. My husband and I parked in front of the restaurant at breakfast, and then went for an hour walk around the surrounding areas. You can walk right across the street and head down to a beautiful white beach. There is not much seating inside so I would suggest going on a nice day. We sat outside on a beautiful patio and had a delicious meal. We tried 2 different omelets and shared both. We loved both, but liked his better because of the sausage in it. It came with a huge side of freshly cut fruit, all different kinds including blackberries and blueberries etc. The mocha they made me was delicious and the staff was very nice. When we first got there , there was no line at about 9am on a Saturday. When we got back an hour later, there were about 15 people in line in front of us, so that took about 20 minutes of wait in line. But it was so beautiful out, I didn't mind. The line was to order your food and pay, and then they bring it to you at your table. Loved it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Popular with locals & tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a great place for a generous healthy breakfast before or after a walk along the beach.
I had a huge ham & cheese omelet & fresh fruit plate & a cappuccino out on a patio table by the fire pit on a lovely Sunday AM. A bit of a wait to order inside this casual place but friendly good service. This was a relaxing visit time with a friend.
With it's variety of pastries & coffees it would probably be a good place to meet a friend anytime.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“This is one place where all your travels are served in one table and... You leave with a big smile on your face!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Food is absolutely to come back for more and more and more! Totally yummy! And you get real good service from the staff. Best part is the owner is there to see that all your needs are met!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Local Coffee House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I visit here frequently for coffee and sometimes a croissant (which are perfect here). I enjoy the Mexican Mocha which has a splash of cinnamon flavor. There's a great patio with firepits which is dog friendly and a mellow vibe. It can get extremely busy during tourist season as it is right across the street from the beach and boardwalk.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice cafe, yummy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Lots of options, food was very good. Very casual, outside dining, friendly service. Extremely slow, not a problem if you're there for a leisurely meal, but not somewhere you could go if you're in a rush.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cafe elysa also viewed

 

Been to cafe elysa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage cafe elysa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.