We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pasta place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jay's Gourmet Pizza & Seafood

Jay's Gourmet Pizza & Seafood
2975 Carlsbad Blvd, Ste B, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2979
760-720-9688
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 277 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Various reviews listed on igougo, Urbanspoon, insiderpages... One of those quaint little places that serves large portions of really good food.
Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great pasta place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Doesn't look like much, but the two dinners we had there were terrific! Huge portions, and very fresh seafood. Nice wine list.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    33
    11
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winthrop
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“take out for a night in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

looked for a close nearby for a meal but takeout. first they had a menu online that offered several choices and prices looked good. walked over and picked up food. it was a small dining area. two dinners, two salads and a bag of garlic bread and back to the room. Food was hot and plenty of food. it was tasty and very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good take-out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We wanted take-out as our granddaughter was too tired to eat out after a full day at Seaworld. The front desk of our hotel recommended Jay's. We got the chicken Marco Polo and the Pizzeria...both were good (although the Polo was a little heavy in the wine.) However the price was very reasonable, and there was plenty of food, and the folks very nice. It was nice switch from burgers or pizza.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Almost Missed This One”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent a week staying near Jay's Gourmet, walking past it a few times without giving it much thought. Finally, someone said, "if you want an outstanding meal..." And so we made it to Jay's... We were tucked into a cozy corner where we were able to watch the goings on as we enjoyed a wonderful meal and the great service and friendly conversation with Ashley and Heather. We ordered Chicken Marco Polo and whatever the seafood special was that night. Both were terrific and surprisingly didn't leave a dent in our pocket the way some restaurants do. We had enough food that we were able to take anything we couldn't eat with us to enjoy the next day. Jay's deserves every good review it gets.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENVER, CO
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun locals kind of place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Staying in Carlsbad, CA for a couple of days, and just wanted a pizza our first night in. We were able to walk over to Jay's from our hotel, and had heard locals like this funky little joint, and now, so do I!

The inside dining area is small, but they offer a few tables outside in front of their parking lot. If it had been a warmer evening, we might have done that, but inside was fine, though a bit loud at times. Our server, Ashley, was welcoming from the moment we walked in the door, and was very friendly and accomodating.

We decided on a large pizza, 1/2 homemade meatball and cheese, and 1/2 hawaiian (canadian bacon and pinneapple). While both tasty, my dinner companion and I liked the meatball side the best. The other half's pinneapple was deliciously sweet, but the canadian bacon didn't have that much flavor. The crust is thin and chewy. We didn't order anything else except iced teas, and our bill came out to $22.00.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jay's Gourmet Pizza & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Jay's Gourmet Pizza & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jay's Gourmet Pizza & Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.