We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great avocado egg rolls! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse

BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse
5613 Paseo Del Norte, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4434
760-579-4440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 282 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Great avocado egg rolls! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Something for everyone. We sat in te bar and enjoyed the happy hour specials. Sliders were very good (with bacon added). The avocado egg rolls were a big hit. Also the Thai shrimp lettuce wraps were tasty. Don't forget to try their brews...tatonka stout is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    58
    24
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“not worth the wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

so we were a party of 9 and waited over 30 min for a table here. granted, it was Saturday night and I know places can get crowded on the weekends, but as we were walked in, I saw nothing but empty tables around. frustrating when you're dealing with 5 kids in tow. the place was LOUD-not easy to talk in here-and our waiter got more than 3 meals messed up because he couldn't hear us. food took forever to get to us and was not all that fantastic. better to try other venues in the area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Friendly restaurant..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great environment traveling with a 20 year old and 11 year makes it sometimes hard to find a restaurant. That caters to both them and me. Lots of different food to choose from and the beer selection is huge. They make their own root beer. No shortness of wine and cocktails.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worst trip ever to BJ's for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Been to numerous BJ's all over the country, including tjis one in Carlsbad 5-7 times. We've never had such a bad food ad we did tonight. My baked potato with chili had a paltry amount of chili to start with and they give you a 1" deep X 2" wide dish of chili for ? Dipping? My wife's $10 calzone was maybe 5" long. It looked more like a hot pocket than a meal. Totally turned off BJ's after this experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“way to slow with service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

sorry, but only advise going here if you have a lot of time on your hands to sit in a restaurant. the food was very good, however it took forever to get it . we went twice, but will not go here again, it was slow both times.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse also viewed

 

Been to BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.