We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extensive menu!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse

BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse
5613 Paseo Del Norte, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4434
760-579-4440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 277 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Extensive menu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Love to go here with the kids, something on the menu no matter what you're craving (almost). Seriously, I was impressed with their selection. Always tastes great. There can be a bit of a wait, and as a consequence of that, once you've finished your meal, well, you get the feeling you have to leave... Depends on the server, I guess.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    53
    23
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Beer, Excellent Atmostphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Grabbed dinner and beers with the guys here about two weeks ago - never been before. Great location just off the I-5 and Palomar Airport Road. Waitress service was fast and friendly, beers were micro-brewed and ice-cold, and the menu was excellent (so was the pizza) - best part of all - enough people to feel fun but not overcrowded (like some places we also go). Check it out! Great place to hang while the significant other browses at the "outlet" mall across the street.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, ca
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice large menu choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a bar restaurant but good food and fast service. The salad choices are good, if you like burger and fries this is a good place to come, it is right across the street from Legoland.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waunakee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Meal and Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Visited this restaurant with 6 colleagues this week. Nice atmosphere with comfortable seating. I agree with other reviewers that it can be noisy as there is ample beer flowing and people get a bit boisterous. Regardless, my meal was excellent - Creole Tilapia and a side of the Tortilla soup. The soup was one of the best Tortilla versions I've had, and the fish was nicely prepared. Our waiter was absolutely wonderful, even letting our coworker use his phone as a light for the menu as she felt she couldn't see well enough. This waiter is on his way to manage a pizza place in Monterey...sad for BJ's. My coworkers very much enjoyed the variety of beer they tried, and the wine list was excellent. One last note - they indicate the calories per dish right on the menu. I really appreciate having that detail....I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Carlsbad!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for casual food - lively place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a bustling restaurant, if that doesn't turn you off. It's always busy and holds a LOT of people, very high ceilings and it CAN be noisy. But, I like the large menu with a LOT of choices. I often will call ahead (they don't take rezzies except for large parties) and they will put me on a list ahead of walk-ins. That's nice. I've had mostly chicken dishes, which have been xln't for the most part. I like the parmesean (???) cheese chicken breast plate and most recently I had the southern-fried chicken breast lunch plate which I liked a lot. (I always request the chicken not to be over-cooked since once the crust was too brown and over-done.) A lunch companion had the unltd. soup and salad lunch and I thought it also was an xln't choice and a true bargain: something like $7 or so. I tasted two of her salads and two of her soups and they were terrific - especially the tomato bisque. You wouldn't come here for a "fancy" dinner but for everything else. They have a busy bar and sports broadcasts on multiple TVs high up so as not to intrude (since the conversations are so loud anyway, you wouldn't hear the audio of the TVs). I like it. It's consistent and reliable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse also viewed

 

Been to BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.