We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just keeps getting better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse

BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse
5613 Paseo Del Norte, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4434
760-579-4440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 276 restaurants in Carlsbad
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Escondido, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just keeps getting better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I started with the small location in La Jolla and have now been to 3 other locations and find consistency which is important. The new one in Escondido is excellent and they did a great job with the ambiance.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    46
    49
    21
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My family and I were on the way back from Sea World to L.A. on Saturday and came across this restaurant by accident. Situated just off I-5 and close to stores, it is a large but welcoming eatery. We had about a 20-minute wait, but a waitress came around and gave us samples of their pizza to keep the wolf from the door. There is a great deal of variety on the menu, and of course you can have one of their in-house beers. I had a sample shot of the cider, which was delicious. Our bill came to about $16 a head including tip, though it would be more if we had had alcohol.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Whole Family Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We ate dinner here both nights we stayed & went to Lego Land. They have a large menu with so many yummy selections its hard to pick one - which is why we went there twice. The food was delicious. The service was great. Atmosphere was great. The dessert - a fresh baked cookie with ice cream on top was to die for! There was a little bit of a wait to get a table but not as bad as we're used to in Boise. My kids are still asking if we can eat at BJ's (we can't, they don't have any where we live, but they still ask about once a month).
Please BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse, build one in Boise, Idaho.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The menu had a lot of choices. The food was excellent. Prices were reasonable. The deserts were good too. Service was ok, not great.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This restaurant is, like I said in the title, Just OK. We have had hits and misses on the food and service. Of course their signature dessert, the Pazookie, is delicious. But we don't go back often.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse also viewed

Been to BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.