We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but not such great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of P.F. Chang's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
P.F. Chang's
5621 Paseo Del Norte, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4434
760-795-0595
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 259 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fountain Valley, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good food but not such great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We eat often at PF Chang's. We had reservations for dinner at 7:00. When we arrived, the restuarant was crowded and folks were waiting for tables. We sat down and our waitress explained she was going on break. Another waiter took our order. Forty-five minutes later, we were still waiting for our dinner. Other diners who sat down after we did were already eating. We asked our waitress, who had returned from break, about the status of our meals. She returned soon with our food and said the kitchen had just received our order fifteen minutes ago. That was not our fault, and our waiter never asked if we just wanted to hang out before eating! We were disappointed in the service, although the food was as good as we've come to expect.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    31
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I liked the food, but would have liked more vegetables with my entree. The lettuce wraps are very tasty. My kids were even willing to try, but again, no veggies on their plate, which was just tempura chicken. Great beer on tap!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla,CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Commercial Westernized Chinese”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This place would be great if you lived somewhere in South Dakota. Otherwise, the high prices, westernized food, and lack of imagination make this place pale in comparison to the many excellent Chinese (I mean Chinese!) restaurants in a large west coast city like San Diego.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Always order Honey Walnut Shrimp!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have never been disappointed at P.F. Changs. We have ordered the same shrimp entree each time and add a new entree to go along with it. This time we had the orange peel beef and it was very good. The service is always perfect.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“45 minute wait with open tables”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We went early to eat there and were told is was a 45 minute wait even though there were plenty of open tables. We left for another restaurant. It was Valentine's Day so maybe they had too many reservations to seat walk-in business but they could have at least told us that to explain all the open tables.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P.F. Chang's also viewed

 

Been to P.F. Chang's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage P.F. Chang's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.