We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of P.F. Chang's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
P.F. Chang's
5621 Paseo Del Norte, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4434
760-795-0595
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 282 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I liked the food, but would have liked more vegetables with my entree. The lettuce wraps are very tasty. My kids were even willing to try, but again, no veggies on their plate, which was just tempura chicken. Great beer on tap!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    27
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla,CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Commercial Westernized Chinese”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This place would be great if you lived somewhere in South Dakota. Otherwise, the high prices, westernized food, and lack of imagination make this place pale in comparison to the many excellent Chinese (I mean Chinese!) restaurants in a large west coast city like San Diego.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Always order Honey Walnut Shrimp!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have never been disappointed at P.F. Changs. We have ordered the same shrimp entree each time and add a new entree to go along with it. This time we had the orange peel beef and it was very good. The service is always perfect.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“45 minute wait with open tables”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We went early to eat there and were told is was a 45 minute wait even though there were plenty of open tables. We left for another restaurant. It was Valentine's Day so maybe they had too many reservations to seat walk-in business but they could have at least told us that to explain all the open tables.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Yikes, they need new management and training!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

An old saying in the hospitality industry goes like this..

IF YOU HAVE TIME TO LEAN, YOU'VE GOT TIME TO CLEAN.

We arrived last saturday around 11:15am for lunch. A family of 4. We've been eating at this location on and off after they opened. We've eaten at many PF Chang's locations across the U.S. for 15 years or so. We walked through the door to find the hostess as well as most of the staff leaning against their area talking. The manager as another employee were in the bar leaning against a wall watching a game on TV. The men's room was dirty, the outside of the building was littered with trash. The front door handle was grimy.

Really?

After our won ton soup arrived, we requested some brown rice. It never came. I got up and went to the kitchen door where I stood looking for the guy. As other servers looked at me and walked by, I went into the kitchen and got my rice.

We were the first and only customers. As other customer arrived, the hostess sat each one right around us. Even though there were other servers in other areas. The do this because it's easier for the server, to Hell with the comfort of the customer.

This place is very poorly managed at best. Poorly trained and supervised employees. A waste of customer money as well as PF Chang's corporation's money.

Avoid this location.

What other filth and problems are here?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P.F. Chang's also viewed

 

Been to P.F. Chang's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage P.F. Chang's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.