We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Mexican food for a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pollos Maria

Pollos Maria
3055 Harding St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2321
760-729-4858
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 276 restaurants in Carlsbad
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican food for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We stopped at this place on the way back from San Diego. I read the reviews but had to see for myself. Needless to say I was not disappointed. The ambiance was nice. Even though it was overcast and California cold :) we sat outside next to a functional fire pit. The food was really good. We had fish tacos, 3 piece chicken and chicken burrito and all of them were good.
I would definitely recommend this place. Try it and you won't be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    14
    12
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy Chicken,but beans better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My friend took me there for the first time for dinner before a church function, The grilled chicken was great, but even better were the whole beans , they were the best tasting beans I have at any mexican resturant. Also very good is their guamole.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't go late.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

chicken tends to be dried out. And Maria should NEVER lose her manager. The guy is the best. He makes the place hum. And very friendly. Probably works as hard as many of the other staff combined.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great food and outdoor seating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This place is great. Parking has never been an issue. Just park on the street right in front. Outdoor seating is spacious with firepits. Indoor seating is a little stuffy so I recommend sitting outside. They even have a little picnic table for the kiddos.

I like their shrimp burritos. My BF liked the carne asada burrito - which is rare because he's a Mexican food snob. Service was friendly and attentive.

We live nearby so we'll definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Some of the best food I've had in a while”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I loved Pollos Maria. We happened upon this after fighting our way up from the touristy spots. We saw it, and figured we'd try it. What a great little hidden gem. This was some of the best food, not only Mexican, but food I had in a while. This place should be packed but it wasn't. Maybe it was the simplicity of the food, but it was very good. I'd come out of my way to go here next time I'm in town.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pollos Maria also viewed

 

Been to Pollos Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pollos Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.