We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bienvenido a Mexico, fun place to share a margarita with friends.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Bandini

Casa de Bandini
1901 Calle Barcelona, Carlsbad, CA 92009-8402
+1 760-634-3443
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 276 restaurants in Carlsbad
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Indulge in authentic award-winning Mexican cuisine amidst lavish dining rooms and an enchanting outdoor patio at Casa de Bandini, located at The Forum in Carlsbad.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Bienvenido a Mexico, fun place to share a margarita with friends.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have been a big fan of casa de bandini for many years. I just love the fun atmosphere of the bar. Expect the typical mexican restaurant: loud mariachis band, lots of colors, packed with families. Casa de bandini is a fun place to share a margarita with friends or to celebrate a birthday, now if you are looking for a romantic place........hmmm maybe this is not the right place for you. Food: huge portion / basic quality / fair price / big menu. Great for happy hours. Located in an outdoor mall so parking is easy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    77
    34
    21
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vista
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Food is good...however..if you are looking for something more quiet or intimate...not your place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Food was good, I tend to like smaller more intimate settings. This place is crowded. If you like the hang on the the beeper thing this is your place. The food was actually quite good but could not hear my guest at all and we had to yell. (also had my debit card number lifted there and sold to Nigeria...so well...)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“High blood pressure stay away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Possibly the saltiest food I have ever eaten anywhere in my life! However, if you don't mind that, and don't mind yelling to be heard at your own table, then the atmosphere, the music, the drinks and the service are stellar. Go for lunch or Happy Hour for good prices and good selections.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good, but loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Atmosphere is great--just so loud inside. And food is very salty.
We live near by and only go for happy hour as I don't like to go out for dinner and not be able to hear the person next to you.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our family really enjoyed eating underneath the umbrellas in the outdoor patio. Coming from the 105 degree temps of Scottsdale made it seem like an oasis. I thought the food was a little over-priced but quite tasty. I tried the black bean burrito which was enormous and my wife had the chicken burrito bandini. Both excellent choices.
Quite intested in the comments from the locals in regard to the original restaurant in Old Town. The CARLSBAD location would compare favorably to many excellent Mexican restaurants in Phoenix. Our service was very prompt and our waitress was so nice in helping us with the menu.
Did not have the time to try any other places in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa de Bandini also viewed

 

Been to Casa de Bandini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Bandini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.