We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love staying here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa to your Saves list
Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa
5500 Grand Pacific, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersSilver level
riverside, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I love staying here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stay here quite a bit. We love this resort. The rooms are always clean, pool is nice and warm, and the location is perfect. The staff is very attentive and the kids love the activity center.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    140
    66
    36
    20
See reviews for
263
133
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Albans, Vermont
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I'm fairly sure we were the first to stay in a villa that was just opened, although there's still a lot more ongoing construction on the property. Both the bed and the couches were hard as rocks, and the lovely tarp and bulldozer view took away from the resort feel. No restaurant on property had us hauling to McDs for breakfast. The time share presentation was notably lacking in high pressure. The staff were exceptionally nice and it was a good location for North of San Diego attractions. The first day we drove North to San Juan Capistrano, no swallows but we saw their cool nests. We returned to the San Diego Botanical Garden a few minutes from the resort. We loved it, but you'd have to be into botany and photography. The second day we went to La Jolla Cove, the underrated must-see attraction of the trip. There were sea lions and seals everywhere on the beach, and I could have watched them frolic all day. We hit the Birch aquarium which would have been an overpriced dud except for a terrific collection of seahorses. Where else can you buy seahorse socks? Then, off to Torrey Pines. Nice hiking and views but no whales seen from the cliffs and the wind nearly blew me to the bottom. So, lots of good nearby attractions and a practical home base, but little else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hi PLUMBO,
Thank you for reviewing Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa. We're so grateful to learn of your most recent stay with us and are glad you had a wonderful time exploring many of the surrounding areas. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Check in was a little slow since the entire property was not finished but nothing too terrible. Our room was located on the top floor. There is no elevator on the building we were in. The laundry room was located 2 floors below us, so that was a little disappointing.
The 2bdrm 2 ba unit we had some nice amenities. The main bedroom had a really nice bed and bath set up. The second bedroom had a full size bed and twin bed. There is 2 balconies and enjoyed the sunrise every morning.
Parking can be a bit of a challenge as it is limited. However, they were accommodating and allowed for 2 cars to be parked there with no extra fees.
At the present time there is no restaurant service, one has to go next door to the Sheraton.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hi BudgetTraveler81,
Thank you for reviewing Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa. We hope you had a wonderful time with us and are glad to know you enjoyed the amenities provided in your suite. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

What a great location and set-up for hosting an "extended family" - - kids and Grandparents all staying in comfort for once! Plenty of room and amenities in the 2-bedroom, 2-bath. So much better than the usual two-adjoining hotel rooms set-up! Very nice pool, outdoor areas, and we walked right over to LegoLand. We will be returning as many years as we can.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

First, I’ll start by saying that I’m a local that stayed at this property for about 18 days while we had a bit of remodeling at our home. I was a little concerned that our family of four would be a little on edge staying so long at a hotel. Although we weren’t on vacation while at the Hilton Marbrisa, I’ll provide my review for the perspective of a traveler. This was our first time staying at a vacation club-type property and I’ll admit we prefer full service hotels over any type of condo/timeshare/vacation clubs. However, after staying at the Hilton Grand Vacation Club, I might be more open to this in the future for a vacation. We stayed in a one-bedroom, equipped with a full kitchen, spacious balcony, pullout couch (ample space for our two kids to sleep on), huge bathroom and master bath. It also had a dining room for 6 and good size living room. It was roomy (I think they quoted me as being over 800 square feet), nicely decorated, and clean. The bed was just as comfortable as our own, complete with down comforters and lots of pillows. Because we were preparing three full meals there each day, the kitchen was fully stocked with most items a family would need. At no time did I feel inconvenienced by what was or wasn’t in the room. Parking, at times, was a bit of a challenge as it doesn’t seem like they accommodate enough spaces for all of the rooms. But if you managed to get a spot out front, it was across a little catwalk to the room (which made it nice being that the cars were not parked right against your room). The positive: We had an ocean view with nice breezes & sunset views. This was in the 5300 building, top floor at the west end of the most interior building. The negative: Eye level and noise level with the rides (particularly two roller coasters) at Legoland. It seems like some of the things (like music) didn’t shut down at night. Test rides for the roller coasters started early morning. Be aware of this if you have a choice in room selection and don’t want the extra noise. Pool was great, gym was clean, and there were many scheduled kids activities. This location shares a property with the Sheraton, so this provides you easy access to their restaurants and lobby. Considering we had a family of four for over two weeks, assuming all of our usual responsibilities of being home and not on vacation (cooking, working, homework, heading to and from school/work), it was extremely comfortable and pleasant. It was unclear to me how often the unit was cleaned. They did come in daily to change towels, replenish amenities, and take garbage away, but I couldn't say for certain it was cleaned on the 4th day as supposed to. Sleeping away from home for that long can be trying, but we came to enjoy our home away from home. I’d completely recommend this property to any our friends or family heading out to Carlsbad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Our family took a "stayvacation" close to home and had a super nice time. Our grandchildren loved "the claw" in the activity room and enjoyed the pool with the spray "mushroom". We had great service - housekeeping inquired if we needed anything without making a request. The rooms were wonderful - plenty of room for all three families. The only problem we had was 3 days was not enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hi gaylenurse,

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa! We are so delighted to hear of your most recent trip with us and are thrilled your family, especially your grandchildren had such a blast! "The claw" and the spray mushroom are always a big hit, we're so glad everyone was having fun. We look forward to welcoming you back next time for a longer trip, see you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I had a awesome time there it was relaxing and lots of fun there was a lot of fun things to do and we went to a lot of places everyone there was nice and kind. The view of the ocean.the property was also very nice and cool but kinda cold it was good to because then I had time to go in the jagusy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa

Address: 5500 Grand Pacific, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#25 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Marbrisa Hotel Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.