We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real diner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby's Diner

Ruby's Diner
5630 Paseo Del Norte #130D, Carlsbad, CA 92008
760.931.7829
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 282 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A real diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Clean. Food service is good and always consistent. Good value for money as you would expect from a 'real diner'.

The fish & chips were a crazy value in the past. However, fish portion size has shrunk greatly. Still over all a great lunch if you are in area.

Spurge, get a shake.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    76
    21
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Went here for a quick lunch before setting off for the airport. A nice, clean restaurant. Good service by the staff and a good variety of American food on the menu

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Good diner food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The atmosphere is reminiscent of the diners of old. Food was good and the price reasonable. If you like diners and that kind of food-sandwiches, burgers, milkshakes etc., you will enjoy it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Lightening Quick Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I ate lunch here solo, while my boyfriend was in a work meeting.

I've eaten at many Ruby's locations, but I have never had my order come out so quickly. I had the aloha burger with chicken and it was out within five minutes of my having ordered. Even the server was shocked.

The food was good, consistent with other Ruby's locations. The server was very friendly and attentive. They were busy in the restaurant, but I was seated, served and finished super quick.

Please visit my blog for more reviews and pictures of our San Diego trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast and exactly what you expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast was great, lots of options (including some Mexican flavored specialties) and old school feel was nice. Booths were roomy, with plenty of space for family of 5. Beignets are a must!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Ruby's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.