We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast and exactly what you expect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby's Diner

Ruby's Diner
5630 Paseo Del Norte #130D, Carlsbad, CA 92008
760.931.7829
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 277 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast and exactly what you expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast was great, lots of options (including some Mexican flavored specialties) and old school feel was nice. Booths were roomy, with plenty of space for family of 5. Beignets are a must!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    70
    17
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SURREY HILLS
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Reliable and Hit with the Children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great value for money and tasty food and good reliable service with a smile. Great location at the Premium Outlets and also around the corner from LegoLand. Large serves and we found quite tasty.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Holy Hamburgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good food, you never leave hungry, that's for sure. Love the chocolate shake, and that you get a bit more than what fits in your glass. :) Lunch or dinner, don't matter, if you want large and tasty burgers, this is the place to go! Nice with the train roaming the ceiling! :)

And once you're done (or before you go there), shopping galore at the Outlet.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, IL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great milkshakes, otherwise a pretty average diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was staying down the road from the Carlsbad Outlets and decided to stop in to Ruby's for some burgers. The diner is within the outlet strip mall but is still decorated in Ruby's 50's style, complete with a model train running up above the diner's heads.

I ordered an aloha burger, my wife ordered a turkey sandwich. The food was okay. Nothing terrible, nothing spectacular. Prices were what I would consider the norm. The place was moderately busy but our service was fast and the waitress came back often to refill drinks and check on us. The milkshakes were great, and came with the mixing cup so you get a good amount of milkshake with each order. We tried peanut butter cup and strawberry. (We later went to the Ruby's in Oceanside and also tried the Black Forest. All were good, but we both felt the strawberry was easily our favorite.)

Overall, this was a pretty good diner experience. After eating breakfast at the other Ruby's, I will say that I think the food quality for their breakfast is better than their dinner.

One tip: Join the Ruby's eclub before heading out. They send all sorts of promotional offers, with the first one being a free milkshake. Definitely worth the couple of minutes it takes to sign up.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average food Average prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nothing fancy. Nothing out of the ordinary. Service was good. Stopped at both locations. One on the pier was a little more unique than the one at the mall.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Ruby's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.