We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great burgers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby's Diner

Ruby's Diner
5630 Paseo Del Norte #130D, Carlsbad, CA 92008
760.931.7829
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 276 restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
SoCal, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really great burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I love Ruby's burgers and malts. The one on the Oceanside pier is great for out-of-town visitors--you walk them along the pier to the restaurant & then are surrounded by the ocean views as you chomp on their wonderful food. I love to bring out of town guests here for breakfast or lunch. The Ruby's in the Carlsbad Outlet Mall is convenient and well run for a break from shopping. Food is excellent, service great & the booths are nice & roomy. I have been to both locations often & have never been disappointed.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    60
    65
    15
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Haven't been to a Ruby's I didn't like”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Good food, great service, awesome place to take the family, their shakes are to die for if you like the really thick ones and they do serve a lot so it is a dessert destination if you don't make it past the entree......

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Flavorless and greasy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

The burgers looked good but the meat itself lacked flavor. My onion rings were drippy with grease and again had little flavor.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Eats in Carlsbad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Ate twice here. After the first meal I was so happy that I inquired about a franchise for my home town. The service was impeccable. We ordered onion rings for a starter and they were on the table in under three minutes. Searched out Ruby's diners for the rest of our trip. Ohhhh soooo good. Your welcome in advance.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Ruby's Carlsbad is a good option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Little kids (and big kids masquerading as Dad) love Ruby's. Great service and trains whizzing around overhead. We liked having a meal after shopping at the outlet village.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Ruby's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.