We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HILTON GARDEN INN carlsbad beach, thank you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6450 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersSilver level
conshohocken, pa
1 review
“HILTON GARDEN INN carlsbad beach, thank you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

My family and I planned a trip from SAN DIEGO TO SAN FRANCISCO. My children wanted to visit legoland and we picked THE HILTON GARDEN INN to park it for the night. We were somewhat surprised that a GARDEN INN had this much CHARISMA AND ATTENTIVENESS. I can not do it justice. From the time we entered the lobby to our room was such a delight. The staff was so FRIENDLY AND COURTEOUS. The rooms were IMMACULATE THAT WE DID NOT WANT TO LEAVE. The location was so perfect that we regret spending any time downtown. The grounds were NICELY MANICURED and the breakfast was OUT OF THIS WORLD. I COULD GO ON AND ON, BUT RIGHT NOW I AM BUSY PLANNING MY RETURN TRIP. The hotel was like a home away from home, ONLY NICER. This is the first time I am writing a review. THIS IS HOW MUCH THAT HOTEL IMPRESSED ME. I hope you have as great a time as my family. Oh, to top it off, we were directly across from the beach. How great is that. ENJOY!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    205
    62
    14
    5
See reviews for
289
125
36
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

We first checked this hotel out on Trip Advisor and it had received glowing reviews. So going in we had high expectations. They were met right away as we were welcomed by Reid!

The location is great. The sunsets are amazing. The buffet is excellent.

Honestly I cannot say enough good things about the place.

We will be back!

I sent a follow up note to the GM at the hotel we stayed at on Coronado and recommended he go check out the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad.

FYI, this hotel is not inexpensive. We were staying on points, but it took a ton of points for two nights. But it was worth it.

Chris

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Disliked — a little pricey
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

Their staff is from some other planet or something. They hardly seem real in the era of bad customer service. These people go way out of there way to make guests feel wecome. Everything is great. I have nothing but praise for them.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — why can't I move in there?
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

We stayed here for Memorial Day Weekend and had an excellent experience. The staff was very, very nice and the hotel sparkled. The location is great. We have 2 kids and the movies on the lawn at night was so much fun for them. We were served popcorn and snowcones! They also have cookies every afternoon and a coffee.hot chocolate station every morning. The buffet breakfast was excellent and kids are 1/2 price. This was the most family friendly hotel we have ever stayed in.

  • Liked — the staff, activities and cookies
  • Disliked — -----
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

Just finished staying 5 days at the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad. It's a really nice hotel and in a great location. Right on PCH 1 and I had room facing the Ocean. It was wonderful and the hotel is in great condition. The staff was excellent and very cordial.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again and again. ( Side Note: Jack Hanna , a fixture on David Letterman's Show and animal conservationist, was staying in the hotel that same week with his wife. Excellent place to put in for surfing nearby at this Hotel and ride bikes. )

  • Liked — HGI are all very comfortable.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

Just completed a 2 night stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach and have nothing but good things to say about the short stay. The location accross from the Ocean is also only about 3 minutes from Legoland and is about 35 minutes from Wild Animal Park. As a runner I particularly enjoyed running along the bluffs to the sounds and sight of the crashing surf. I also approeciated the host at the front desk meeting me with a towel and bottled water after I completed my run. Nice touch. The rooms are modern with flat screen TV's and about a dozen High Def channels. Bed's were comfy and the grounds are actually nicely kept for what I usually consider a business hotel. I would definitely stay again when in the Oceanside/Carlsbad area.

  • Liked — The location right on Carlsbad Beach
  • Disliked — Lack of free breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

This is a nice hotel overall. However, I get the feeling that the high ratings for this hotel are given by locals getting out of the city for a weekend who perhaps don't have other locations to compare it to. Maybe compared to other local options it is a good choice, but compared to other beach-front hotels I have stayed at in other locations, this one is definitely low on my recommendation list.

It is a clean facility with a nice heated pool and the staff are friendly.

The location is not that great as there is not much within walking distance. The beach is across a busy 4-lane road and down a sizable cliff which many people probably won't attempt to descend.

The room we stayed in with an ocean view was about as plain as they come with business traveler amenities, which did not appeal to us on a wedding anniversary vacation.

The biggest disappointment at this hotel was the price tag on everything. The bottles of water in our room were even charged to us at ridiculous prices. I don't know if this is a Hilton standard or just life in California as it was my first time staying in both, but it did leave a sour aftertaste, especially after paying over $250 per night.

I wish we would have tried a bed and breakfast.

  • Liked — Clean; Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach

Address: 6450 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located across the street from Carlsbad State Beach. Featuring ocean views, full service restaurant & bar, complimentary shuttle service, spacious guestrooms, heated pool and spa, fitness center, business center, and much more! All guestrooms are equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, complimentary HSIA, two dual-line phones, and Television with PPV. Rooms feature new GSS Beds, 32' HDTV and Herman Miller chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.