We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 /5.0” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6450 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mooresville, NC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“3.5 /5.0”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great place to watch the sun set. I also saw some dolphins from my room. The water is across the road and there is no immediate access to it without going down the "cliffs" on one of the "paths" forged by previous visitors to the beach. (This isn't good for the cliffs and is a bit on the dangerous side, particularly for families.) It appeared that there might be better access about 1/10th of a mile south of the hotel. If you want to be able to sit and listen to the ocean, you'll need to go over/down to the beach because the afore mentioned cliffs and the traffic block most of the sound. The hotel itself is clean and nice. Though it looks like there might be balcony rooms from the pictures, there really aren't balconies. There are a few rooms with "Juliet" balconies, but nothing you can sit out on. The location is about a mile south the NRG power plant. My GPS was a little confused and the sign for the hotel isn't overwhelming, so I went by the hotel initially. Again clean hotel, nice staff, pretty good location since it is closer to the water than most hotels in the Carlsbad area.

Room Tip: If you don't select full or partial ocean view you'll have an opportunity to possibly have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UltimateServiceGuru, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review from your recent stay with us. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the time you took to write about our hotel. The best beach access from our hotel is located to the left of the hotel a short walking distance. We hope you also were able to enjoy our many outdoor seating areas and take in the amazing sunsets.
Thank you again for choosing us and we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Regie Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    220
    70
    19
    5
See reviews for
313
132
38
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent 3 nights, as my wife had a conference nearby. Hotel was clean and rooms as well. The staff was very nice. Ocean across the street but getting to walk the beach, you had to go a little bit further. Served coffee and tea in the morning.would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UltimateServiceGuru, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review from your last visit. We are happy that you were able to enjoy our restuarant and take advantage of the proximity to the beach.
We look forward to your next visit with us.

Best regards,
Regie Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great location for activities in the area especially Legoland. Legoland is only a couple miles away and they will shuttle you there and back promptly. Staff was excellent! Loved the sunsets!! Pool and hot tub were great for the kids and they made a lot of friends while there. Access to the beach is a bit difficult but was still a great location. I highly recommend an upgrade to ocean view since then you will get the best views of the sunsets. I highly recommend this hotel for it's location and great staff.

Room Tip: Upgrade to ocean view for the sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Awesome location. A quick walk across the street to a fantastic view of the ocean and lovely walk either above or on the beach. Hotel staff go out of their way to ensure your stay is memorable. Will come back again.

Room Tip: An ocean view will be appreciated
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palisades, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

very nice experience had a great time. Very helpful staff and very nice location. Check in was easy and the employees were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the beds comfy. The hotel is right across from the beach and this is convenient for walks that include a gorgeous view! No complaints and I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a two night visit to this property in February 2013. We were greeted with a wonderful attitude and and smiles making you feel very welcomed to Hilton Garden Inn. The front desk personnel were very quick and efficient checking us in within five minutes of our arrival. We had a deluxe oceanfront view room with two queen beds. The room was very clean and was of a good size for three people. We had breakfast each day at the breakfast buffet. The made to order omelettes were fantastic, as well as the selection of other breakfast items that were available. The staff in the dining room went beyond my expectations and were extremely friendly and very hospitable. The only negative was that one of the queen beds was extremely hard and was sagging in the middle. Also, we had a connecting door in our room. This led to a major noise issue due to the fact we could hear everything the guests in the room next-door were saying. I thought at first it was coming from the hallway! Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had such a great stay. From the moment we pulled up to the hotel. The area it is in is so beautiful, and we are locals, checking in and out was easy. The manager and staff were so helpful and courteous. They went out of there way several times to make our stay really special. The manager ordered a bottle of champagne for us and had it brought to our room. We will do a staycation there again, soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach

Address: 6450 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located across the street from Carlsbad State Beach. Featuring ocean views, full service restaurant & bar, complimentary shuttle service, spacious guestrooms, heated pool and spa, fitness center, business center, and much more! All guestrooms are equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, complimentary HSIA, two dual-line phones, and Television with PPV. Rooms feature new GSS Beds, 32' HDTV and Herman Miller chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.