We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach access, clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6450 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points Package!
Ranked #11 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great beach access, clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. The beach access is great, right across the street. Very close, north and south, to nightlife, shopping, and food. Rooms were clean, comfortable, even if a bit dated. Breakfast was okay..... There Re so many great food options within 15min from hotel, eat every meal out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool, third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    369
    179
    53
    14
    5
See reviews for
257
106
33
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FLORIDA
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hilton Garden Inn's are normally very clean. We have stayed in them across the country. This one wasn't. The carpet in the room was very dirty and felt horrible to walk on. There were stiff areas that felt nasty on the bottom of your feet when you walked on it. The chair in corner had stains on it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UltimateServiceGuru, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Please accept my sincerest apology for your recent experience with us. We take our service and cleanliness very serious here at the hotel and clearly did not meet your expectations. Please know that we have addressed the issue with the appropriate staff to ensure this has been corrected. I would look forward to having you back with us and would be happy to assist personally if given an opportunity.

Sincerely,
Regie Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very nice location along the beach. My room (unfortunately) did NOT have ocean view. I am sure you need to pay for the view if you would like to have gorgeous view. Stayed only one night. Front desk people were very very nice and friendly. Elevator was kind of slow...and looked like one of those service elavator. My AC kept making strange metalic noise so it bothered me a bit during the night. Flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, great. Fitness center was very very small, only had 3 cardio machine and very "steamy" and yucky.

Room Tip: Well, you can ask for the ocean view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, FL
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

On business trips to Camp Pendleton, we usually stay in this area but this was the first time at this hotel. Very nice location, convenient to Pendleton, Legoland, and beaches. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food and service in the restaurant was very good. Recommended. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was an exceptional Hilton Garden Inn. Room had an ocean view, the most comfortable room in weeks of business travel and friendly staff. Nice place for business too. Really have to say the best Hilton Garden Inn I have stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Originally planned a couple of nights stay, then extended it by two more days. The hotel staff were very friendly and courteous. Great location by the oceanfront and less than a couple of miles to outlet mall and Legoland. Kids played ping pong in the garden and it was overall one of the better hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a clean and comfortable hotel in a good location not too far off the I-5 when we found this little gem. I booked it based on other reviews and was not disappointed. The hotel is situated directly across the ocean, close to LegoLand, and a short drive to Carlsbad Premium Outlets and Westfields. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service too.

The rooms were very large, clean and the bed was comfortable. Although the furniture was starting to look a little tired it was still functional. There was a large wardrobe with ironing facilities, extra blankets and pillows and the room had complimentary coffee making facilities. The bed had a sleep number dial which made for a comfortable night's rest. There was a study desk with helpful information on local things to do and taxi details that I used to take me to Westfields.

The lobby was cosy and inviting and the staff were friendly. There were complimentary cookies during afternoon tea which were deliciously enjoyed by the fire as we watched our favorite tv shows. There is a large pool in a sunny area and lovely garden benches throughout the hotel to sit and relax. Parking on site is ample and many are directly near one of many sub entrances to the hotel.

We had an enjoyable breakfast with partial beach views from the restaurant. There was a good selection of hot and cold varieties and the resident chef was only too happy to make me an omelet using egg whites only. The wait staff were attentive and made sure your experience was a comfortable one.

Overall a great stop over that was clean, omfortable and convenient. I would not hesitate staying here again.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms on the right hand side facing the beach offer beach and mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach

Address: 6450 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located across the street from Carlsbad State Beach. Featuring ocean views, full service restaurant & bar, complimentary shuttle service, spacious guestrooms, heated pool and spa, fitness center, business center, and much more! All guestrooms are equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, complimentary HSIA, two dual-line phones, and Television with PPV. Rooms feature new GSS Beds, 32' HDTV and Herman Miller chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.