We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Carlsbad-San Diego” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Palms Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
“Paradise in Carlsbad-San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

This is a great, tropical hotel on the beach in the town of Carlsbad. Barry the owner, greets most of his guests checking in on weekends and treats you like family. Its a quiet paradise with palm trees carved into tiki gods, fire pits and all at a great rate. Kids will ove this place and when the get tired of the sand, OPBR has a pool and jacuzzi. Check it out online. Our second year and we will be going a third!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    99
    16
    14
    33
See reviews for
249
217
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Quite expensive ,no quality! Roaches,noisy,,no amenities,(eg, ,no shampoo, no hairdryer,no bar soap given 2nd night,no kleenex,.no breakfast), NO PARKING !!, about 8 spaces for entire "resort" ,told up to you to find a space outside on street. Room was listed as mini suite,had queen bed,pull out couch,(without sheets) No area to set anything down,felt like you're sleeping in kitchen( you are !) The worst front desk staff I have ever encountered,I travel extensively for my job,and I was appalled at their lack of courtesy.Stayed last year across street at Best Western,for about $50 less per night,included a great breakfast' ,parking for guests,and friendly courteous staff.My problem was we arrived without a reservation on a Tuesday,and Ocean Palms was the only place with a vacancy.2 night stay cost $488.20, great ocean access,but a horrible value for your money.Hold hands,cross the street,stay in a cleaner,more comfortable room,park your car,eat breakfast and be treated with respect,I'm sure my family will!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acheron800, Manager at Ocean Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2010
This guest stayed in second floor room, we had not had any problems in room 219 until her 2 night stay. She complained about people looking into her room, even though she was on the second floor, she then complained about roaches, we offered to upgrade her at no charge, but refused. We then went to see if there was a problem, we found no roaches. Then to be sure, after she left we sent in the exterminator, and he saw no roaches. To be even more sure, we asked our new guests staying in that room after to let us know if there were any problems, the new guests has no problem with the room at all.

Yes, most parking in Carlsbad is pubic parking, and in the summer it is sometimes tough to find a parking spot, which is why we promote walking to your destination during the day, walking is easy at the Ocean Palms because we are within a block or two of everything, and also directly across the street from the beach.

Hairdryers are located at the front desk for check out, hair dryers are also in all luxury rooms. Bars of soap and shampoo were also found in the room at her time of check out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

During our three week road trip to the states, we stumbled upon Carlsbad. And as budding new surfers my two boys were eager to surf here. Problem - where to stay. We were being budget conscious as this was the beginning of our holiday.
Practically a beach front property we found Ocean Palms at only $99 per night. The Checkin service was superb and the lady offered us great ideas of where to eat that night and a general feel for the area. The room we had was very basic - but for the price excatlly what we expected. Immaculately clean and fresh. The grounds were georgous, indeed a hawaiian feel we wished we could have stayed for another night. There were barbeques around the gardens for the guests to use, a swimming pool and lovely lounging area. Unfortunately after going to a fantastic restauraunt where we had the best ribs ever KoKos, a stroll along the beach at sunset which was amazing - we were too tired to enjoy the grounds! The bed was comfortable, we felt safe and slept well. If we are ever lucky enough to come back to Carlsbad - the boys had their first surf in california here and they loved it.-We would definately return to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, Ca., USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

If you're looking for a very affordable, friendly, and totally cool place to relax and unwind then look no further. Our family has stayed here twice now, and we will be back. There is an hawaiian feel to this hotel that is very comfortable as well as romantic. The service is great, the rooms clean, and the pool / spa / and lounging area will take you away. There are several gas barbecues to use, and at night there are several gas fire pits and a fire place that are lit to relax and enjoy. If you want the beach, nice and clean by the way, then just walk across the street and down the stairs, and about 100' to the waters edge. There is a WIDE range of shops and restaurants within 2-5 minutes walking distance from your room. You leave here with a good feeling about your stay. Give it a try!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Have yet to stay at their super-fancy Tahitian suite, but I am a big fan of their deluxe rooms and the welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

My partner and I had to rush to Carlsbad on a family emergency from Oregon. We drove around the corner to see a lovely tropical hotel. As I walked into the lobby I was immediately greeted by Denise who did everything possible to set our hearts at ease. She talked with the owner and they were able to find us a wonderful room. Although we arrived at night we were able to take in the beauty of this little gem by the sea with the grounds alive with beautiful tiki carved palms, exotic tropical flowers, incredibly comfortable outside seating throughout the entire property, outside fireplaces/pits and the list goes on! Even though our stay was not a vacation, this hotel, it's loving and caring staff, the magical grounds, the central location to everything truly made this stay much more than we could ever have imagined. Thank You Ocean Palms and all your staff for helping us through a very difficult and stressful time. We will see you again!!
Jess and Frank

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Stayed at the Ocean Palms Hotel in Carlsbad ca for our Daughters Graduation for three days in May and was blow away on the great accomidations and the whole quality of the Staff, Rooms and the Hotel Grounds felt like we were in the Tropics.
Two Thumbs Up !!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Palms Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.