We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Blast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Palms Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Buy 2 get 3rd night free
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Had a Blast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

My boyfriend and I are in the fast paced corporate world in LA. We were in dire need of a Hawaiian getaway. Due to time restraints and the economy, that just wasnt possible for us at that time. A friend of ours mentioned Ocean Palms. In just a couple short hours we were enjoying ourselves in lush tropical gardens, beautiful flowers and hand painted murals on our walls. We were right across the street from the beach and within walking distance to local shops and restaurants. Best of all they r pet friendly and we were able to bring our little dog with us. He had a blast playing with Pookie., The Oceanpomeranian. The staff was courteous and helpful at all times, and we could not have had a greater weekend get away and cannot wait to return. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    85
    15
    14
    33
See reviews for
223
194
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

The grounds are beautifully landscaped with palm trees and other tropical plantings. You can wander around the property and feel like your in your own piece of paradise. Everything we needed was there - pool, barbeques, putting green, convenience store, beach and sunshine. Very nice quality upgrades to the room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We stayed in this motel on a recent stay in CA. It was the worst experience on our vacation, after so many nice nights in CA. We were overcharged and underserved. There was a 25% discount advertised on the seasonal rates which was not taken off our bill, we were charged full price plus $3 plus tax, even though they made a show of taking it off while we stood there. When the bill came in the mail - it was for the original full price plus the $ 3. They were not honest about the wifi from the get go - in your rooms but better in the courtyard - nope, not in your rooms and it costs $7 a day oops, forgot to tell you that at check in.
They really made it difficult to use any of the amenities offered in the flier.
Very unfriendly staff with the exception of one young man. They are strictly out to make a buck on this visit and do not care if you ever come back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We checked into the hotel in the afternoon, and asked for their best rates. We were given a price and asked if they had wifi, they said yes, "You just have to return to the desk for the password when you're was ready to use it," and "You have to go to the courtyard to use it, it doesn't connect in the rooms." So later I went to get the password and was told that it was $7 a day for the wifi, which didn't work in my room. Crazy enough, but also found out that they had charged us rack rates (full price) when they were running a 25% off special (even had flyers on the desk when we checked in) the following morning when we asked a different front desk person what the rates were supposed to be.

We asked them to correct the overcharge of $35 for the first night and then we'd stay a second night. They refused.

There are plenty of other nicer places to stay in this area- it's not necessary to support this business unless you are desperate for a bed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

My family just completed a 6-night stay at OPBR. We also stayed there in March, 2008. If you can stand to read my whole review you will have a very good idea of this hotel.

For both visits we chose the updated 2-bedroom luxury suites. I have read reviews of the standard rooms that are less than favorable, however our rooms have been quite comfortable and well-equipped. I am a Realtor so tend to notice the little things that I would improve about a home/hotel. In this case there are only a couple of items I would suggest to management.

Most rooms face inward towards courtyards. Parking is primarily surrounding the hotel on the outside with key-activated gated access.

First, the bathrooms have a dual-headed large shower (no tub). If you have small children who may need baths you might ask about other rooms. There is only one towel rack in the bathroom which is inconvenient, especially since this room can sleep 6, and since you will likely have beach towels or towels from the pool to hang up. There is also one small glass shelf for cosmetics (no medicine cabinet above or below the sink) which makes for a cramped space for families. For a updated bathroom with beautiful tile floors and shower surround it seems out of place to have a large institutional toilet tissue dispenser inconveniently located under the sink.

The kitchen is nice with a full-size fridge, stove, and microwave. Dishes, utensils, and some pots and pans are provided.

Beds were ok. One mattress was firm, while the other seemed a bit spongy. Fold-out couch mattresses are never too comfortable, however this one was suitable for only small children due to s-springs that were prominent on the surface. The bedrooms do not have closet space, and a converted TV armoire with a bar for hanging clothes inside is not quite tall enough for shirts, let alone formal clothes.

While there were three TVs in the living room and bedrooms they are old-fashioned CRT models. The ones in the bedroom, mounted on the walls, stick out from a corner and get in the way. For a "resort" it would nice if they would convert to flat screen LCDs.
Internet access (either wired or wireless) was $5 for the duration of our stay (free access is so common at most hotels these days I think the management should consider getting rid of the fee).

The 3-room suite has one heater/cooler located in the living room. We have not stayed there in the heat of the summer, but it should be adequate if the bedroom doors are left open.

The pool was comfortably heated, and clean, as was the hot tub. Grounds are beautiful, and immaculately maintained. Gas fire pits, carved palm trees, and numerous flowers create an exotic feeling.

The location is prime--just behind the row of town homes that line the beach. There are two stairways (65 steps) down to the beach right across the street from the hotel. "Ocean view" in the case of this hotel means looking over or between the town homes, but you can be on the beach in less than a minute.

Naturally, I can't vouch for the rooms I have not seen, however, even with my "picky" objections noted I can still recommend this hotel as a quiet, convenient, and comfortable place to spend your stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

A friend of mine and I visited Ocean Palms in May 08. We could not have stayed at a better place. The rooms are amazing, and they provided a very relaxing atmosphere. Also, we had access to many shopping areas, and we were very close to a variety of restaurants. Plus, we were right on the beach, which made for some pretty amazing mornings! The staff was extraordinary! Any time we stopped at the front desk, the attendants were more than willing to answer any questions we had about the area, including printing out maps. They never once seemed bothered by our questions, which there were many of since we are from a much slower paced and smaller area. I will definitely be staying at the Ocean Palms again.

  • Liked — It's right on the beach.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, CA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

This hotel has a wonderful location and a gorgeous lobby and grounds. But do not be fooled. The average room is poorly equipped and downright depressing. During our recent stay we had unwanted visitors...roaches! We checked out a day early and received a bill for a 1 night stay, but my credit card was charged for 2 nights. We had to fight to get a refund! They were not even apologetic for the bugs! They claimed they are not roaches but bugs that come up from the sewer...O.K. that did not make me feel any better! Choose the Carlsbad Terrace Inn instead it has a much better location and nice clean, reasonable rooms!

  • Liked — Checking out!
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Palms Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.