We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Tradition!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Palms Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family Tradition!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was our 5th year in a row at the Ocean Palms. It is not only the best location in town, but they do an amazing job! The staff has barely turned over during our 5 years of visiting and they treat us like family. Know that this is a beach hotel. It always entertains us to watch couples show up and complain about the smallest issues, and then act surprised when the hotel refuses to accommodate their goofy gripes. This place is chill. If you are, you'll love it! If you're not, you'll find something to whine about. We intend to be here every year for decades to come!

Room Tip: The Tahitian suite has a private front yard that more than justifies the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    112
    18
    14
    33
See reviews for
280
231
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We absolutely love this place!!! We have been going there for almost 30 years as a family and now our grandchildren are enjoying it too. We also love it when we go by our selves or with friends. It is in a perfect location across from good places on the beach and it is surrounded by yummy places to eat. The local shops are a plus. We always get great service and see many friendly faces. The staff is very willing to help us plan our day. Hot coffee and snacks are provided throughout the day and the on site shop is convenient. The rooms have small kitchens and an eating area. We love relaxing by the fire pits after a fun filled day. It is the best!!!

Room Tip: Some rooms have an ocean view and some have a front porch. Others over look the pool area or the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Ocean Palms Beach Resort was definitely a highlight on our trip down the California coast! When our initial accommodations fell through at another local spot, the staff at OPBR booked us a room right away at a discounted rate nonetheless! A potential disaster was all together swept away with the aid of the angel working the front desk! The location is perfect, accommodations were gorgeous and well kept, and friendly helpful staff all around. We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is our third year staying at the Ocean Palms. It has become a second home when we visit our son and his family. The Blues have been very accommodating to our needs. All the staff are friendly, helpful, and efficient. The location is excellent, convenient to restaurants and stores, and especially the beach - right across the street. The improvements and upgrades to the suites are top notch. I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Ocean Palms Beach Resort has to be one of the best beach hotels that I have ever stayed at. The property is gorgeous, clean, and detailed. There are palm trees throughout the property, and some have tiki style carvings on them. You are about a minute from the Norte Mexican Restaurant. The beach is across the street. Tina at the front desk was professional and welcoming. I highly recommend staying here.
Ed Carlson, Travel Consultant, Blue Compass Global Travel

Room Tip: Book ahead way in advance, this place sells out quickly. Restaurant Norte across the street is defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed for 7 nights and it was perfect. Brought my Boston Terrier "Harley" and he loved it as well! I went to the beach everyday and everyday I saw wild dolphins swimming just off shore! The room was just perfect. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful - Todd, Jose, and the guy with the big brown hair (sorry sir, I forgot your name!) all made me feel welcome and valued as a guest. Thank you to all the housekeeping, maintenance, and desk clerks for making this the best, most relaxing vacation I have ever had! ALOHA :)

Room Tip: Room 215 has an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This place is perfect for anyone in pets! The prices are equal to other area hotels but this property is right across from the beach and you can bring your dogs on vacation too. The hotel itself is great because you can leave your dog in the room while you are at the beach and the town itself is very dog friendly. The dogs take a nap while we swim then after we will take them to explore the town. There is a winery down the street where dogs are allowed inside for tastings and the Daily News Cafe has tables out front where you can have your dog they even give them a water bowl. We have been a few times this year already and love it. Everything is in walking distance from the hotel, the hotel staff is super nice and the rooms are CLEAN, which is huge for me. The hotel also has great things on property, fire pits, grills and a nice pool. We have seen many people stay on property and bbq...we are thinking about doing this next time too. I hope this place keeps its small family feel, we love it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.0 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#1 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 906 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.0 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#27 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
3.6 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#6 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Palms Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.