We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience, terrific staff, we are repeat visitors!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Palms Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Sunnyvale, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great ambience, terrific staff, we are repeat visitors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Ocean Palms has a true beach resort feel to it, lush flowers and palm trees everywhere, and the sound of the sea, which is about a 1-minute walk from most rooms. The rooms are recently updated to a high standard, and they come in all sizes and shapes. Most if not all include kitchen facilities, a huge convenience if you do not wish to eat out every meal. The atmosphere is friendly & welcoming, and the desk staff go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and have the room with the amenities you want. There is a pool, of course, and a hot tub, a gym, and an outdoor shower for rinsing the sand & salt off. There are fire pits for a romantic evening, and fresh-baked cookies for teatime. There are great shops, cafés, pubs, and restaurants within easy walking distance, as well as a long oceanside promenade with plenty of access stairs down to the beach (there is a ramp as well, for people who don't wish to climb stairs). We have stayed here twice and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Some 2nd floor rooms have a peek view of the Pacific. Often the desk staff will let you look at a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    63
    14
    14
    32
See reviews for
173
152
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is a lovely hidden gem! The suites were so tastefully updated and decorated! We were so comfortable. The grounds were so pretty to look at too. The staff so friendly and the room staff did above and beyond to keep the room spotless everyday. We will MOST DEFINITELY be back as our daughter just moved to California and we are going to visit often. Our new place to visit! The location perfect too on a quiet street...steps to the gorgeous Carlsbad Beach...So glad we found this place and stayed here for a wonderful week!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are perfect as they are all updated and stylish! They were doing construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great place, great staff, we will be staying there when were ever in Carlsbad area, great restaurants around you, that you can walk to, great wine bar close bye, hotel is a gym by the ocean. price just right, all I can say that anyone that's stays there will love it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had a wonderful week in Carlsbad during our nearly four month USA holiday in October/November 2013. As we arrived we directly got an upgrade to a very nice appartement because my girlfriend was...and still is pregnant. This was really a great offer! The whole Resort was very tidy and in a really good condition. Unfortunately the whirlpool was in repair, but this was the only minus of our stay in the resort. Expecially the nearness to the ocean was really brilliant and I never saw so much pelicans in my life as in Carlsbad. All in all it was really a good time in Ocean Palms Beach Resort for us. Cheers, Jessi & Holger (Hamburg, Germany)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

From check in to check out...this place is great!! I have stayed here several times, and encourage any travelers to do the same, you can't beat it! Only steps from the beach, across a small 1 lane beach street, you can find yourself standing ankle high in SoCal sand watching waves crash on an early evening sunset walk along the ocean. You can even hear the waves crashing from your open window at night. "Steps to good restaurants, blocks from bike rentals and the Coaster train that takes you in and out of the city and very nice grounds to relax in." (taken from another post because it is VERY true!) They are *pet friendly* which is very important to those with pets! There are even a couple of very friendly cats that live there that give the traveling animal lovers their fix of critters. I was actually born in Carlsbad, my family lives in Carlsbad and I stay at OPBR when I visit! The rooms are plush and very inviting and warm with complete kitchenettes. The last one I stayed in was rather small, it was the smallest room, but it was comfortable for my trip, 1 bd (queen) 3/4 bath (shower) kitchenette, but I think it would be great for a couple wanting to get away. Heated pool and hot tub, private parking, 24hr lobby and gift shop...Carlsbad at its finest!! Recommended to everyone who visits! I really do love staying here and will continue to do so!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great place, recently renovated and especially the location in Carlsbad, CA. You can walk everywhere from restaurants, shops and Coaster train to the beach and parks. If you travel with a well behaved pet, Ocean Palms is very welcoming to you and your pet. Our Lab loved it there!

The kitchens are complete, even the little Traveler room had a good mini kitchen. We stayed in two different rooms because at the end of our stay we decided to extend and had to move to a different room. The first room, Luxury suite was great and had no noise issues. The second room, the Traveler, you could hear a simple normal telephone conversation in the the next room through the wall. Unfortunately, they could hear our TV and called in a complaint. We travel a lot and never had that happen. We felt really bad and basically never turned on the TV again and spoke in whisper in the room the remainder of our stay.

The staff is very friendly and helpful and we would definitely go back but not Cooke the Traveler room option. The pet fee per day was $25 but the location to great walking and short drive down coast highway to dog beach was worth it!

Room Tip: Traveler rooms were not very sound proof. All other rooms seemed great. Try to get ocean view if pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This place lives up to the review and photos and ended up being the best possible place we could have chosen. Steps to the beach, steps to good restaurants, blocks from bike rentals and the Coaster train that takes you in and out of the city and very nice grounds to relax in, we felt this was the best choice in Carlsbad.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Palms Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.