We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review from secret shopper” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Palms Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Buy 2 get 3rd night free
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Murrieta, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Review from secret shopper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My job, when not on vacation is a mystery shopper. I have been doing this job for over 10 years.

I tend to rate everything by habit when I stay somewhere, such as the service, room condition, property amenities and the property over all. If I was to have to rate this property based on these things that are important to me, I would have given a grade of 100.

The employees went out of their way to help me and answer any of my questions. I did not experience anyone being rude or unhappy during the visit. Even the gardeners greeted me when I passed them. The men that were remodeling one of the units were friendly and asked how my stay was. The property was well maintained and the amenities were up to standards. The room I stayed in was nice and cozy. It reminded me of a bungalow on the beach. Sitting on the porch, listening to the wave and talking to people passing by were very nice.

I would recommend this property and my hat is off to the staff for making my stay pleasant. Thanks so much for being the property you advertise you are. That’s hard to find nowadays.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    85
    15
    14
    33
See reviews for
223
194
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We came here for our honeymoon and were not let down. Upon arrival we found that our room was a little smaller than we expected. We then asked the front desk how much it would cost to upgrade and it was too far out of our budget. The next morning the owner came out and gave us a great room for the rest of our stay at less than half the cost. He also let us take snacks out of the store for the remainder of our stay for free. This town was absolutely awesome. The beaches are very nice and there are many many places to eat, all in walking distance. Nights at this hotel are very cool with the fire pits and other lighting. We will definitely be coming back again in the future.

P.S. Come after labor day. There are way less people tons of room on the beaches.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom suite w/ kitchen like an efficiency apartment. It has a small porch w/ table, umbrella & chairs. Suite is nicely decorated and clean. Kitchen has full size fridge, oven/stove, microwave and cookware/utensils. We cooked on one of several gas grills almost every night. Bed is comfortable. I slep like a rock. Pool area w/ jacuzzi very cozy and clean. The beach is just a stairway away. Management, front office staff, and maids are very accommodating and friendly. Front office stayed open til 11 pm and has a small "store" w/ condiments, can goods, perishables, and souvenirs. Free bags of ice. We plan on staying there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I love Ocean Palms Beach Resort! I have been coming here for the last 3 years to visit with friends. This is our most favorite place in Carlsbad, I park the car and don't get back in until it's time to leave. Just love being able walk every where. The grounds are beautiful with lots of potted flowers and carved palm trees. We enjoy using the pool and jacuzzi after a long day at the beach. The family and staff are awesome. They upgraded us to a very nice 2 bedroom with kitchenette and living room and just spoiled us. Looking forward to next year Berry and family!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I just spent four nights at Ocean Palms Beach Resort in Carlsbad to celebrate our anniversary. We actually live in Carlsbad, but rather than wasting time driving or flying somewhere, we chose to stay in our favorite village by the sea at THE BEST resort in Carlsbad!
Ocean Palms is located literally steps from the beach and only a block from many of the wonderful shops and restaurants in Carlsbad. It the a perfect place to stay!
The resort itself is beautiful. It reminds me of being in Hawaii. The grounds are really lush and lovely. There are palm trees and gorgeous flowers at every turn. The ambience is very tropical, and the courtyards are landscaped so beautifully.
We stayed in the Molokai Suite. It is the size of a three bedroom house! The master has a king bed, flat-screen TV ,and a HUGE walk-in shower. There is one more generous sized bathroom, between the other two bedrooms. This suite is perfect if you want a "home away from home," or if you are traveling with friends or family. It is such a nice place to stay!
The resort has many different types of rooms and suites, and I have seen several of them because Ocean Palms is our favorite resort for a "staycation." Every room that I have seen is clean, comfortable, tastefully furnished, and quite lovely. You really can't go wrong when you stay at this resort.
Some of the resort's amenities are a very nice pool, hot tub, barbecue grills, decks and patios, full kitchens, a putting green, mini mart, a gym, and outdoor fireplaces. As I said before, the grounds are beautiful, so you'll want to sit outside and enjoy them.
The resort is family owned and operated. Barry Senior strives to provide a delightful experience for his guests at his beautiful resort.
If you are going to visit Carlsbad, trust me, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Staff was very accommodating, the grounds are beautiful, and you're walking distance to everything. We stayed for 3 days but felt like we were there for a week- total relaxation. The luxury suites are quite small and we ended up paying extra to upgrade to a bigger room; however, in retrospect we could've probably done the small luxury suite because it was summer and the grounds were so nice we hardly spent anytime inside. My husband and I loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We chose this location because it is located right near the beach (literally cross Ocean street and down the steps and you're at the beach) , and between LA and San Diego. The location afforded us the ability to go to Disney, Seaworld, USS Midway, and have one full beach day all in one vacation.
The hotel supplies Boogie boards, beach chairs and beach towels so if you are looking for a beach only vacation they got you covered.

There are at least 4 restaurants within walking distance.
on site Gas Grills if you want to do your own cooking
and 2 bike rental shops nearby if you want to do some 2 wheel exploring.

The bad. Not all rooms have ocean views. Ours did and we sat on the balcony all week every night and enjoyed our view. But not all rooms have that same view FYI. but the beach is right there anyways so this is minimal.

Our vacation was great!! Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Palms Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.