We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Ocean Palms Beach Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Palms Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Buy 2 get 3rd night free
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love Ocean Palms Beach Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just returned from a week long stay at Ocean Palms & had an amazing time. The resort is awesome and we love the Hawaiian feel of the facility and the grounds. The location is perfect! Right across from the beach and a short walk to Carlsbad Village. The staff at Ocean Palms was great with many helpful 'local' tips.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    85
    15
    14
    33
See reviews for
223
194
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This place is Awesome and the staff is great!
Barry has done a great job with the landscaping, It feels and looks like you're in Hawaii.
We live in the desert and it's great to have a place like this to retreat too, In the summer or winter, The weather is always good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our 10 day stay at Ocean Palm was very relaxing and wonderful. The staff was welcoming and very friendly. They accommodated our every need. The room was clean and modern. Nothing out dated.
The landscaping was beautiful with palm trees every where. I felt like I was in paradise.
All the staff was great, but Barry was our to go guy. He is very caring and made sure we had no trouble with our stay. He was our to go guy for sure.
Our vacation was well needed and Ocean Palms made our vacation worth it. We received a great deal for our room and we will always go back every summer.
Great job Ocean Palms!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have stayed here many times and have an overall favorable experience. UNTIL THE LAST TIME!! We needed a room for an additional night. The desk clerk offered us a fabulous condo down the street for 500 bucks per night. He gave us a key we walked down to check it out only to find the key did not work. After calling the hotel to let them know the key didn't work xxx informed us that not only did he not have a key to the condo but that the price had gone up to 750 bucks per night. He then suddenly realize he had a suite available on site for 550 bucks a night!! He also appeared to be under the influence and unable to carry on a conversation!! Great location but very uncomfortable beds and rates that go up and down at the will of the " kids" running the place!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We've been going here for 6 years and won't go anywhere else! Ocean Palms is a hidden gem. We've stayed in many different rooms. Whether the rooms are updated (granite, stainless steel, etc.) or not they are all very clean. The grounds are beautiful!!! Beyond the front wall there lies a pool, hot tub, laundry room, workout room, tables, chairs, gorgeous flowers, grills and fire pits. We feel so at home. The staff and owners are great!!! Sooo looking forward to visiting!!!

Room Tip: Prefer rooms in front, on street, with decks or room 103, roomy with front and back pation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have stayed at Ocean Palms 5 times now and have found them to be a sanctuary of relaxation and hospitality. The grounds make you feel like you are somewhere in Polynesia and the staff makes you feel like family.

We have watched this place grow through the remodel and fall in love more every time we visit. We lived in Carlsbad right down the street for 8 years and I must say I would have much rather have lived here!

After parking the car it rarely leaves it's space as you can walk to all of the local favorite restaurant's and shop's and of course the beach that is right across the street. If you choose to lay by the pool you will feel like you are in another world. The rooms speak for themselves and last time we were fortunate to stay in 128 where we had our own patio w/ table and chairs, a fully stocked kitchen and all the creature comforts one could ask for.

Now when we come home this is where we will always go!

Thank you for another stellar experience June 11-13 2013!!

Lisa Bakken

Room Tip: If you need a one bedroom suite for privacy they come with a pull out bed in the couch in the living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I returned to Ocean Palms this June after an absence of many years. We used to take our children there in the 80-90s but got out of the routine. The hotel has been upgraded and has delightfully decorated rooms and grounds. It's quieter too with modern windows installed. We parked our car and then walked everywhere in the charming Carlsbad Village area. The owner gave us a tour of remodeled units, some of which we had stayed in previously and boy, what a difference. Staff were friendly and helpful. Quick walk to the beach and near lots of restaurants, shops and a new electric/pedal bike shop too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Palms Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.