We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Palms Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Buy 2 get 3rd night free
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011 via mobile

We've been to Carlsbad many times but this is the first time at OPBR. We had a 'not yet renovated' room and it was just fine. Clean, neat, well maintained but just a bit "dated". The staff was helpful and friendly. The location was perfect: directly across the quiet street from the beach access to the ocean. We parked on Friday and didn't move the car til we left for home since it's easy to walk everywhere. The grounds, plantings, pool etc are very well cared for and beautiful. We loved the carved palm trees (How do they do it!?) and the fire pits.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    85
    15
    14
    33
See reviews for
223
194
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Barry Blue and his staff gave us excellent service. We felt there was a very personal and sincere interest in making sure our stay was enjoyable.
The room and property were clean and welcoming. The location was wonderful, across the street from the beach, walking distance to restaurants and shops. A relaxed, low key atmosphere, but with all amenities we needed. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Ocean Palms is one of the best places to stay in Southern Cal!! My boyfriend and I absolutely love it here.....we come out to stay for a weekend about four or five times each summer. The location is perfect, literaly steps from the beach. The ammenities and the staff at Ocean Palms can't be beat......Barry Blue Sr, you rock!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Great place to stay. Great location. Parked the car for 3 days and was able to walk to everything we needed to do or see. The beach is across the street. Plenty of great dining facilities very close.
Hotel staff is very nice and friendly. We will definitely return for another visit.
The weather there is always great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We've stayed here before and loved it. We had family visiting and booked a couple of rooms for the overflow and everyone loved their stay. Thanks again for the best place to stay in Carlsbad.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

The location is great and then entire grounds were immaculate. My room was recently remodeled and upgraded. The shower was fantastic. Being dog friendly is a big plus for me and my family as well. I booked the room online and prepaid. When we arrived, I noticed a sign with a lower rate, and the management made it up to me by upgrading our room to a suite. This was a great place for my family and I to visit!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

AmazEEEing! For the price you are getting a great little resort that just pleases me more and more every time I stay there. The staff is great, the rooms are clean and the rates are great! Not to mention the LOcation, location location!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Palms Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.