We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAMILY VACATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Palms Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Buy 2 get 3rd night free
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
palm desert
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FAMILY VACATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

WHAT A TERRIFIC PLACE! The rooms are clean, relaxing and have kitchen features, which is great for a family. It is across a small street from the beach in a relatively safe area. the grounds are beautiful, there is an adequate pool and jacuzzi, and best of all , mom and dad can go down to the courtyard in the evening and relax with a glass of ?, in front of a fire-- while the kids are asleep or watching tv in the room. You can see most of the rooms right from the courtyard so it makes for a very relaxing evening to visit with other adults ! Also, there are barbques available for your use.
only drawback--parking is very limited, so when you find a place, walk everywhere you can ! also very close(walking distance) there is a part of the beach that has life guards - you can drive and park or walk-its close enough!
Carlsbad itself is much more family oriented than other areas of san diego beaches. We didnt see alot of homeless or rough looking persons as we have in the past in the misson beach area.
We would absolutely go again !

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice-
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    92
    15
    14
    33
See reviews for
230
206
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Las Vegas, NV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Our family enjoyed our stay so much we are going to make it an annual event! The room was wonderful! Loved the kitchen so we could make some of our favorite foods. Loved the ambiance and choices between the beach, swimming pool, jacuzzi, bbq. We strolled through the quaint little shops and visited the farmers market. The staff made an extra effort to help my son propose to his girlfriend! Happy memory!

Room Tip: Love the Deluxe rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

The gardens are beautiful and I really enjoyed sitting outside of my room and having my cheese and wine. It is nice being a short walk to the beach, restaurants, and shops. Whenever a staff member walked by they greeted us. I spilled some wine on a white shirt and one of the gals in the laundry gave me some bleach to get it out. Very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

This resort is comfortable, fully up to date with ammenities, and the staff is friendly and competent.
The resort is designed with lush landscaping and gives you the feel of Hawaii. It is close to the beach and everything you need is within walking distance, but when you are at the resort you feel safe and secluded.
The propery owners also have vacation home rentals which are well maintained, close to the beach and fairly priced. The beds are extremely comfortable. It is my new home away from home.
Our family has been staying at Ocean Palms for years and just this April and May we rented one of the vacation homes. We will not stay anywhere else. You can't beat the value and the service.

Room Tip: The upstairs studio is a bargain for what you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Great location, steps away from beach. Very well maintained grounds with awesome theme. Pool/jacuzzi were great. Multiple outdoor fire pits which made the night fun to sit around and talk. Pet friendly. Stayed in a mini suite. Large, refrigerator, comfortable bed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmendingen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

This is a really ideal place to relax after travel through the deserts. We especilly liked the closeness to the sea, the quiet surroundings and the nice inner court.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Country, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

i booked a reservation for two nights with a company called ARES. when we got to the hotel, there was NO reservation under our name. we came to find out that ARES took our money and never called the hotel. i spoke to the hotel manager and his son (Barry Rose and Barry Rose jr.) they told me "not to worry and upgraded our room for free. this resort is 50 yards from the beach and shops, yet it is so well hidden by fantastic landscaping and gigantic palms. you forget where you are. the pool and jacuzzi area is secluded and beautiful. we did not move our car for three days. the customer service was excellent. whatever we needed or wanted we received.

Room Tip: the best rooms are the second floor east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Palms Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.