We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Palms Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Buy 2 get 3rd night free
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Ren, Heidi and James were awesome! Housekeeping was excellent, groundskeepers were pleasant, owners were great. Due to my wife's knee and issue they upgraded us at no charge to a deluxe unit. Would recommend this place to stay to everyone! We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    85
    15
    14
    33
See reviews for
223
194
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
federal way
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

A special thanks to owner Barry and his friendly staff for being so gracious and accomidating to us. The Ocean Palms meticulously manicured grounds and prime location made our stay a welcomed pleasure. The nightly lighting of the outdoor fireplace and pits was a nice touch. The staff even printed out our boarding passes for the flight home. We definately would stay here again. Ron & Vickie

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

The nicest staff and Barry Blue shines with his magnetic personality and warmth towards his guests...stay and enjoy feeling like family.

Lisa Lieb

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

This hotel was a great place to stay and in a wonderful location. The room was well maintained and comfortable. I loved the property and especially the night time fire place and fire pits on the patio. Being steps from the beach was amazing to wake up to each morning. The hotels location could not have been better, you could walk into the center of town for all kinds of eating and shopping. The staff was very helpful when deciding on this hotel and upon arriving. A very good place to bring a family. I would highly recommend this hotel for all travelers.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Upon checking in for a 3 week stay, we found a couple of minor items not to our liking. Within a short time we were upgraded to a "luxury suite" at no extra cost. This fulfilled all our dreams. Great queen size bed, a super bathroom all in marble (with jacuzzi tub and a shower with 3 heads - even a seat to sit down). Our room overlooked a beautiful swimming pool and hot tub nearby. And the surrounding landscape (palm trees, flower pots), courtyard of flagstone (newly installed), lounging chairs, tables, several gas fireplaces which were lit on cool evenings, were all beautiful. Even several barbecues if you wanted to do a steak.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

A family owned hotel that's one of the best in San Diego for the price. We live in San Diego but frequently stay at Ocean Palms to enjoy the heated pool and walk to all our favorite restaurants and clubs. The owners and staff make you feel welcome soon as you check in. The rooms are clean and spacious with a full refrigerator, stove, and oven. The beach is right across the street. I love this place and will continue to visit there and bring our friends and relatives.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Brought my wife here for an early valentines day surprise. Must say that the renovations they have done are Excellent. Everything is so Resort-esk. We stayed here before and the property has completely changes for the positive. Staff were great. The location you can't beat...short walk to the beach and restaurants, and stores. This is the perfect place to be if you are the kind of visitor that likes to settle in one place and likes to "stole" to the nearby small town attractions. My only beef would be the room. We were in room 104 and it just didn't meet up with the exterior of the property. The room was nice and neat and clean, just old, compared to everything else. If they were to upgrade this room to new carpet, toilets...etc., this place would be perfect. Price was ok...whatever...it was Valentines Day. I had "fun"

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Palms Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.