We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tamarack Beach Resort a great value near San Diego” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3200 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Philadelphia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tamarack Beach Resort a great value near San Diego”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

We found a great value just across the beach in Carlsbad in a well maintained unit at the Tamarack Beach Resort through an RCI timeshare exchange. Unlike many recent timeshare experiences this was in very good condition and had a very well trained staff. There is a lot to enjoy just exploring the Carlsbad area and the coastal trip towards San Diego includes much see places like La Jolla, Torrey Pines, Mission Bay, and when you least expect it places where you can turn off the highway and drive right to the cliffs where hang gliders offering tandem rides are. If you want to get right into San Diego quickly it's just about 1/2 hr minutes south on the interstate.

The swimming pools and jacuzzi area are nice; the views from the unit tremendous. Relax if you book this place knowing you will have a great time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    48
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
60
61
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

Had an ocean facing room, first floor, which by the way sits directly on the Pacific Coast Highway -- 4 lanes of traffic at your mini-balcony. Oh, yes you can catch a glimpse of the ocean (across the traffic!). Bottom floor rooms are rented out as the hotel portion, higher floors are timeshare. Might be nicer in a higher, timeshare floor, but would NEVER stay here again as a hotel guest. Oh, did I mention that the 'owners' in the room above me partied till 4 a.m. -- loud!-- and the front desk staff told me they had no control over it since this was an owner-occupied unit! What???? Stay at Pacific Terrace down the street -- my recommendation for a truly beachfront, quiet place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

The ocean front rooms are well worth it. What a beautiful view, because that's why I come to Carlsbad, is to see the ocean. Room are clean and well kept. Just wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

I loved Tamarack Beach Resort. The location is awesome - right across the street from the beach! Rooms were nice, clean and we had a nice partial ocean view from our patio. Complimentary breakfast was good. My kids loved the rec room - ping pong, pool tables and complimentary movie rentals.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night while driving down the So-Cal coast. The hotel is in a good location, close to restaurants and Carlsbad nightlife. It also has a good bar; open late and with plenty of locals. If you're planning to have a late night though be warned: the rest of the guests at Tamarack weren't kind to us after our big night out - it was very noisy early the next morning with the numerous families staying there playing in the pool or checking out (the luggage trolleys are very noisy!).
Overall however its fairly good value, the rooms are large and the beds comfortable. Breakfast was okay - just fruit, cereals and bagels. Definitely good value for families but probably wouldn't recommend it to young couples and singles.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora CA, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

My wife and I enjoy taking weekend getaway trips from our hectic lives in a Los Angeles suburb. On a recent business trip I saw what appeared to be a nice place just across the road from the beach in Carlsbad, CA, about 100 miles from our home. So when we found we had just one night we could slip off, I thought about Tamarack Beach Resort. We checked in at about 5:15 PM and found our ocean-facing room on the first floor to be just what we wanted: quiet, clean, plush, and inviting with a small balcony from which we could watch the sunset. The staff was friendly and helpful, the facilities were very nice, and the price was fair. Though my wife suffers from aches and pains that come with age, we nevertheless walked to supper - about six blocks in the village, and to breakfast the next morning. It was so soothing to listen to the sounds of the breakers in the distance, and the traffic noise on Pacific Coast Highway was not so loud that it woke us during the night. We look forward to returning to this unpretentious yet very comfortable and affordable place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

This really is a coastal paradise that is just across the street from the beach and in walking distance of shops and restaurants. The ocean view room was spacious and clean. Staff was polite and helpful. Safe, underground parking. Nice breakfast included. Only disappointment was that the spa was closed for maintenance on two occassions during our short stay. Heated pool was nice. Would highly recommend to families wanting a nice get-away!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 3200 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Beach..the Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel located in the Coastal Village of Carlsbad California. Just steps to the beach on Historic Route 101 and walking distance to all the One of a Kind Shops and Cafes in the Village. Dini’s by the Sea is located on the premises best known for there Sunset Dinners with seating on the patio. Looking for your next Venue how about a Panoramic Ocean View Meeting Room? Tamarack Beach Resort is one of the only Resorts with direct Ocean Views and Direct Access to the Beach all Hotel rooms with an Ocean View or Partial Ocean View have Private Patios. We offer a unique way of looking for accommodations with Hotel rooms or Condos (1 bedroom or 2 bedrooms) we can accommodate just about any size family or length of stay. All Hotel rooms come with a Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Wireless and Secure Parking combined with a Heated Pool, 2 Hot Tubs and Recreation Room. Condos have a fully equipped Kitchens, full size Stack able Washer and Dryers and all units have Private Patios. When you stay at the Tamarack Beach Resort you are bound to experience More Than A Room, More Than A View but "A Touch of Paradise." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Beach Resort By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Tamarack Beach Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.