We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3200 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
Fort Worth, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed here during spring break for four nights, and it was absolutely fantastic. The king room with a full ocean view is the way to go! There was a very nice continental breakfast each morning that also included bacon and sausage, along with several choices, including bagels, danishes, yogurts, and cereals.

We especially enjoyed sitting out on our room patio each evening, watching the sun go down beyond the Pacific, while taking in the waves and the sounds of the surf, all while having a bottle of wine and a light dinner. This was the highlight of our day each day--stopping off to purchase a quality wine, some cheese, crackers, and other light snacks, and relaxing on the patio.

There are only about four handicap-parking accessible spots in the underground garage, but regular parking seems to be adequate. Please note that the first floor is hotel rooms only, while the second and third floor are time-share condos. The number of full ocean view rooms is limited, so book well in advance to assure a great view of the Pacific; these king rooms book out very quickly. The hotel is directly on the Coastal road that parallels the Pacific Ocean, making it very easy to travel a scenic route to one's destination. Access to Interstate 5 is very easy as well, and the beautiful Carlsbad Village is a great way to spend the afternoon or evening. A nice, quiet little town that has plenty of local shops, as well as locally-owned restaurants.

To really enhance the stay, avoid the franchised and chain restaurants further east into town. Stick to the local establishments for dining.

Overall, an extremely wonderful trip, enjoyable, and definitely a memorable experience that will warrant another stay in the near future.

Room Tip: King room with full ocean view is the way to go. The queen rooms do not have a full ocean view. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your great review!!! We are elated that you had such a memorable and enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Until then, the ocean air and wine and cheese will anxiously await your return!! :)

Kind Regards,

Shelli Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    43
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
52
56
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were very happy with this hotel. We were given a room with a corner balcony facing the ocean on the 1st floor, amazing view. While this hotel is a bit older, it is built well and the rooms are a bit larger which is nice. We were concerned about the noise of the traffic at bedtime, but the heavy curtains muffled the street noise nicely while we could still hear the ocean, which was nice. There is a nice pool and lounging area in the middle of the hotel which also keeps the wind to a minimum. They also have an activity room with ping pong, etc. Also a free continental breakfast which we didn't try. Staff was great, courteous and attentive. We will be back! Free underground parking was nice too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed here for two nights while attending a meeting. A nice location, right across from the beach. The hotel provides a simple continental breakfast, underground parking, and a fiendly and helpful staff. I'm not sure I'd call this a resort, but the price is reasonable for the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We recently spent six nights at the beautiful Tamarack Beach Resort. Although the hotel is an older establishment it is very well kept and maintained. The rooms were huge, the free breakfast was very good and staff response to any request was very very fast and courteous! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone! The beach is directly across the street.

Room Tip: We had the panoramic ocean view room. It was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Hotel location is excellent.It is located right on the beach close to lots of eating places within walking distance.
Nice pool with BBQ for customers use.Pool was well maintaned and kept very clean.Rooms should be provided with microwaves.
Staff was courteous
Rooms were Clean & Comfortable.

Room Tip: Room facing beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel is in great shape, well run and a great location in the center of Carlsbad. Our room was very large, had a king bed and a balcony with an ocean view. Free parking and a free waffle breakfast were welcome benefits. Located across the street from the beach and within walking distance of my restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean facing balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed for two nights in a partial ocean view room on Pine Street. Room was very spacious, beds and pillows were comfortable. Shower head was low and pressure was low, those are just about the only shortfalls, everything else about this property was excellent. The staff was awesome, rec room was very friendly, kids loved the ping pong and pool table. The DVD player in the room with current titles to pick from was a plus. Grounds were clean and well kept, the staff mopped everything each morning. Great access to the beach, right across the street! I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view room gave a good view of the ocean from the balcony and Pine Street was very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 3200 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Beach..the Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel located in the Coastal Village of Carlsbad California. Just steps to the beach on Historic Route 101 and walking distance to all the One of a Kind Shops and Cafes in the Village. Dini’s by the Sea is located on the premises best known for there Sunset Dinners with seating on the patio. Looking for your next Venue how about a Panoramic Ocean View Meeting Room? Tamarack Beach Resort is one of the only Resorts with direct Ocean Views and Direct Access to the Beach all Hotel rooms with an Ocean View or Partial Ocean View have Private Patios. We offer a unique way of looking for accommodations with Hotel rooms or Condos (1 bedroom or 2 bedrooms) we can accommodate just about any size family or length of stay. All Hotel rooms come with a Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Wireless and Secure Parking combined with a Heated Pool, 2 Hot Tubs and Recreation Room. Condos have a fully equipped Kitchens, full size Stack able Washer and Dryers and all units have Private Patios. When you stay at the Tamarack Beach Resort you are bound to experience More Than A Room, More Than A View but "A Touch of Paradise." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Beach Resort By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Tamarack Beach Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.