We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hotel, well maintained” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3200 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A comfortable hotel, well maintained”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed here for two nights while attending a meeting. A nice location, right across from the beach. The hotel provides a simple continental breakfast, underground parking, and a fiendly and helpful staff. I'm not sure I'd call this a resort, but the price is reasonable for the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    53
    25
    4
    6
See reviews for
74
68
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We recently spent six nights at the beautiful Tamarack Beach Resort. Although the hotel is an older establishment it is very well kept and maintained. The rooms were huge, the free breakfast was very good and staff response to any request was very very fast and courteous! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone! The beach is directly across the street.

Room Tip: We had the panoramic ocean view room. It was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Hotel location is excellent.It is located right on the beach close to lots of eating places within walking distance.
Nice pool with BBQ for customers use.Pool was well maintaned and kept very clean.Rooms should be provided with microwaves.
Staff was courteous
Rooms were Clean & Comfortable.

Room Tip: Room facing beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel is in great shape, well run and a great location in the center of Carlsbad. Our room was very large, had a king bed and a balcony with an ocean view. Free parking and a free waffle breakfast were welcome benefits. Located across the street from the beach and within walking distance of my restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean facing balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed for two nights in a partial ocean view room on Pine Street. Room was very spacious, beds and pillows were comfortable. Shower head was low and pressure was low, those are just about the only shortfalls, everything else about this property was excellent. The staff was awesome, rec room was very friendly, kids loved the ping pong and pool table. The DVD player in the room with current titles to pick from was a plus. Grounds were clean and well kept, the staff mopped everything each morning. Great access to the beach, right across the street! I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view room gave a good view of the ocean from the balcony and Pine Street was very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

When my wife and I arrived at our room, there was dried blood on both sheets. It was really obvious as well, meaning the cleaning staff just did not care. The front desk just dropped off new sheets for us to put on when we called about it.

The shower had really poor water pressure. Not just bad, but you could not wash shampoo out bad. This was not a cheap hotel and my wife and I looked forward to staying here. Great location, but disturbing features.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Came down for a quick weekend the hotel staff is awesome the grounds are well maintained and the rooms are spacious. The partial view room had a patio and much more than a partial view. The breakfast was a very nice added value. Would highly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#4 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
1.7 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#27 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.4 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#1 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 3200 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#19 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Beach..the Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel located in the Coastal Village of Carlsbad California. Just steps to the beach on Historic Route 101 and walking distance to all the One of a Kind Shops and Cafes in the Village. Dini’s by the Sea is located on the premises best known for there Sunset Dinners with seating on the patio. Looking for your next Venue how about a Panoramic Ocean View Meeting Room? Tamarack Beach Resort is one of the only Resorts with direct Ocean Views and Direct Access to the Beach all Hotel rooms with an Ocean View or Partial Ocean View have Private Patios. We offer a unique way of looking for accommodations with Hotel rooms or Condos (1 bedroom or 2 bedrooms) we can accommodate just about any size family or length of stay. All Hotel rooms come with a Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Wireless and Secure Parking combined with a Heated Pool, 2 Hot Tubs and Recreation Room. Condos have a fully equipped Kitchens, full size Stack able Washer and Dryers and all units have Private Patios. When you stay at the Tamarack Beach Resort you are bound to experience More Than A Room, More Than A View but "A Touch of Paradise." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Beach Resort By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Tamarack Beach Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.