We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dried blood stain on sheets.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3200 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Carlsbad, California
1 review
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Dried blood stain on sheets.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

When my wife and I arrived at our room, there was dried blood on both sheets. It was really obvious as well, meaning the cleaning staff just did not care. The front desk just dropped off new sheets for us to put on when we called about it.

The shower had really poor water pressure. Not just bad, but you could not wash shampoo out bad. This was not a cheap hotel and my wife and I looked forward to staying here. Great location, but disturbing features.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    44
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
55
60
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Came down for a quick weekend the hotel staff is awesome the grounds are well maintained and the rooms are spacious. The partial view room had a patio and much more than a partial view. The breakfast was a very nice added value. Would highly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed at this hotel and were very pleased with the beautiful location right across from the beach. Our room was large, tidy and pleasant. The hotel grounds were lovely and well maintained. We are already planning our next stay at the Tamarack Beach Resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I had the chance to stay in a one bedroom condo with ocean views on the second floor when I needed to find time alone. The location is unbeatable and the unit was very spacious and comfortable. Although the décor was a bit dated, the overall cleanliness, full kitchen and amenities far made up for it. This place is located directly across the street from the ocean and within walking distance to everything in the village. The front desk does a good job and the fireplace in the lobby is a relaxing place. The pool area is quite nice and there is also a small gym. This is a place that welcomes you back and some of time share owners have revisited for 29 consecutive years without fail. It is certainly a place you might want to spend months at a time due to its comfort and wonderful location. It is also small scale, so you don't have that crowded experience of being in a hotel. I also liked the easy underground, free parking. Highly recommend the time share units.

Room Tip: Try to find a time share unit that is available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here in mid November and found the hotels position absolutely perfect. Almost beachside!
However we felt a little cheated by the room we were given ( room 109). It was incredibly dark with only one small window, set back underneath a walkway above. We did ask if there was an ocean view room , and were prepared to pay the upgrade, but apparently there were no rooms available. However, if we stretched our necks we had a pool view.
Breakfast good and complimentary!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Wonderful location, set up, and ambiance. Everything was just as we expected. We highly recommend this location. There are a limited number of hotel rooms available as most of the patrons seem to be from time shares. This makes for a nice environment. We also like the breakfast that was included and the coffee/tea area at all times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not over the underground parking garage door. Some noise but not late at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona, United States
1 review
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here on two occasions and loved it each time. We look forward to a return visit. Close to the beach, dining and great accommodations...all at a very reasonable rate! We highly recommend the Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel!

Room Tip: We didn't use the Spa, but our room faced the ocean and we will be sure to request a room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 3200 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Beach..the Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel located in the Coastal Village of Carlsbad California. Just steps to the beach on Historic Route 101 and walking distance to all the One of a Kind Shops and Cafes in the Village. Dini’s by the Sea is located on the premises best known for there Sunset Dinners with seating on the patio. Looking for your next Venue how about a Panoramic Ocean View Meeting Room? Tamarack Beach Resort is one of the only Resorts with direct Ocean Views and Direct Access to the Beach all Hotel rooms with an Ocean View or Partial Ocean View have Private Patios. We offer a unique way of looking for accommodations with Hotel rooms or Condos (1 bedroom or 2 bedrooms) we can accommodate just about any size family or length of stay. All Hotel rooms come with a Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Wireless and Secure Parking combined with a Heated Pool, 2 Hot Tubs and Recreation Room. Condos have a fully equipped Kitchens, full size Stack able Washer and Dryers and all units have Private Patios. When you stay at the Tamarack Beach Resort you are bound to experience More Than A Room, More Than A View but "A Touch of Paradise." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Beach Resort By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Tamarack Beach Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.