We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3200 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Not knowing San Diego much, asked a friend who got us a room at Tamarack. It was GREAT.
Hotel staff is awesome. All extremely nice and helpful. Our room was ocean view... awesome to sit outside at the patio.
Beach is literally across the street with a mini shower conveniently located closeby.
Hotel surroundings have plenty of restaurants and cafes so you dont really need to drive if you dont want to.
About 30 min away of downtown San Diego which makes it close enough that you can go as many times as you want and far enough that it aint that busy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    37
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
45
53
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel was great! We had a small problem and the way they handled it was fantastic. The fire alarm went off a couple of times in our room at 2:00 AM. We initially thought the battery was dead, but it never made a sound after that. Also, the coffee maker in our room was broken. We went to the front desk in the morning and spoke with Shelly. She was great. We told her about the alarm and coffee maker. She called maintenance immediately as we were standing there to fix both problems and offered to change our room. We agreed and she gave us an upgrade from our courtyard view room to a partial ocean view room. We had such a great time in Carlsbad and liked the hotel a lot, so we decided to stay an extra night. We went to Shelly and, although our current room was reserved for the following night, she would move us to another partial ocean view room. We were fine with that. When we were ready to move, we found out that Shelly had once again upgraded us from a partial ocean view room to an ocean front room!! What a great stay! The rooms and grounds were very clean. They mopped the courtyard floors and cleaned the pool every morning. Everyone who worked there was friendly and accommodating, especially Shelly. We would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

What a beautiful location for a marriage retreat. Awesome Hotel with a beautiful room overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Pacific Coast Hwy. Accommodations were great and everyone here is very friendly and polite. Great game room, Continental breakfast and court yard area for swimming and spa with bar b ques

Room Tip: Get the Full Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have now stayed 2 x's ( May and August) at the Tamerack in the Village of Carlsbad. Wow so close to the beach and everything else in the area I can walk all over, not only to the beach but also the shops and restaurants in the area, plus they have the best staff, always friendly and helpful...they have courtyard and beach view rooms I've done both in the last few months and was not disappointed. They also have a pool and spa off the courtyard. This is my new favorite place to stay. Going back in October...

Room Tip: if you want a view of the beach then ask for that upgrade I stayed in the courtyard room 1x and part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Small, dark (but nice) room off courtyard. Sheer curtains did not provide the privacy I would have liked. AC rather loud (but efficient). The bed was comfortable. Loved the location near the beach and restaurants. Will stay here again but will upgrade to a room off the courtyard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is probably a very nice hotel, but we were let down by a room that only had a small window out to a courtyard. It made the room seem very confined and dark.
The location was great and a very good breakfast was provided.
The room was very expensive for what we got and was one of the most expensive rooms we stayed in during our Southern California holiday and by far the most disappointing.
Of the 6 hotels we stayed in during our trip this is the only one I wouldn't bother returning to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We loved the quiet ambience if this hotel. My 6 year old and 15 year old niece and nephew loved the pool, and my 92 year old mother enjoyed the view and the nice room. Four generations spent three nights and enjoyed the amenities.

Room Tip: Partial views ar almost as good as full view and on quieter part of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 3200 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#21 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Beach..the Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel located in the Coastal Village of Carlsbad California. Just steps to the beach on Historic Route 101 and walking distance to all the One of a Kind Shops and Cafes in the Village. Dini’s by the Sea is located on the premises best known for there Sunset Dinners with seating on the patio. Looking for your next Venue how about a Panoramic Ocean View Meeting Room? Tamarack Beach Resort is one of the only Resorts with direct Ocean Views and Direct Access to the Beach all Hotel rooms with an Ocean View or Partial Ocean View have Private Patios. We offer a unique way of looking for accommodations with Hotel rooms or Condos (1 bedroom or 2 bedrooms) we can accommodate just about any size family or length of stay. All Hotel rooms come with a Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Wireless and Secure Parking combined with a Heated Pool, 2 Hot Tubs and Recreation Room. Condos have a fully equipped Kitchens, full size Stack able Washer and Dryers and all units have Private Patios. When you stay at the Tamarack Beach Resort you are bound to experience More Than A Room, More Than A View but "A Touch of Paradise." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Beach Resort By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Tamarack Beach Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.